Advertisement

Germany vs Japan: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know

Germany will be eager to put behind their 2018 World Cup disappointment when they had to stunningly depart the tournament in the group phase.

Germany players in a file photo; Credit: Twitter/@DFB_Team_EN
By Karthik Raman | Nov 22, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Advertisement

Germany will kick-start their World Cup campaign with a difficult challenge against Japan on Wednesday. The match at the Khalifa International Stadium will undoubtedly have the Europeans as the favourites, however, Hansi Flick in no way will underestimate their opponents. The Asian powerhouse has been a tricky test for teams in the past and has always made life difficult for the giants of the game. Hence, Germany will have to be at the top of their game to get the three points on Wednesday.

Germany vs JapanKey details
DateNovember 23
VenueKhalifa International Stadium
Kickoff time in India6:30 pm
Kickoff time in Germany2 pm
Kickoff time in Japan10 pm
Kickoff time in Qatar4 pm

Not to mention that Germany will also be eager to put behind their 2018 World Cup disappointment when they had to stunningly depart the tournament in the group phase. Even in the Euro 2020, they got eliminated in the round-of-16 phase before managing only a third-place finish in League A Group 3 of the latest Nations League. Meanwhile, Japan lost to Belgium in the last-16 stage four years ago in Russia. However, they now have a difficult task in getting out of Group E which also has Spain and Costa Rica.

Read More – Germany vs Japan: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixture and Probable Lineups

Germany vs Japan: Records, Stats & Goals

These two countries have not played often on the international stage and the few times they came up against each other were also not in any global tournament. They had faced each other twice in friendlies and unsurprisingly the European nation has the upper hand in those contests. Germany won once while the other ended in a draw. In 2004, the Europeans won 3-0 before playing out a 2-2 draw two years later in 2006.

Key DetailsStats
Total matches2
Germany won1
Japan won
Draws1
Total Germany goals5
Total Japan goals2
Biggest Germany win3-0 (2004)
Biggest Japan win

Germany vs Japan Head-to-Head Record

Last 5 matches (all competitions)Results
Germany draw Japan2-2
Japan lose to Germany0-3


Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Post

Advertisement

HIGHLIGHTS

Buzzwords