Bilbao, Dublin dropped as Euro 2020 hosts; Seville, St Petersburg added

These cities were removed as they were no able to guarantee having enough fans in stadiums

Estadio La Cartuja in Seville; Credit: UEFA Twitter

With only seven weeks before Euro 2020 kicks-off, some noticeable changes were announced among the host cities for the tournament. Bilbao and Dublin were removed as host cities for this year’s competition on Friday as they could not guarantee having enough fans in stadiums. Now the games are moved to Seville, St Petersburg and London for the 24-nation tournament, which kicks off in Rome on 11 June.

Group E matches involving Poland, Spain, Sweden and Slovakia were scheduled to take place in Spain and Ireland. UEFA selected Bilbao and Dublin in 2014, but due to the latest development they are now moved. The three games in Bilbao will remain in Spain with Seville. Three Group E games from Dublin will go to St Petersburg, which was already set to host four games in the tournament.

The round-of-16 match which was supposed to happen in Dublin has been moved to London. Now, Wembley Stadium will host eighth matches, including both semi-finals and the final.

UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin said: “We have been working diligently with the host associations and local authorities to ensure a safe and festive environment at the games and I am really pleased that we are able to welcome spectators at all matches for a celebration of national team football across the continent”.

Sevilla and Real Betis do not use the 60,000-capacity Estadio La Cartuja in Seville. However, it has hosted Spanish national team matches. Euro 2020, which was originally scheduled to take place last year, has been postponed for a year because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post