Advertisement

Argentina vs Australia: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know

After losing their opener 4-1 to France, Australia defeated Tunisia and Denmark to finish second in Group D.

Angel Di Maria (L) and Lionel Messi; Credit: Twitter/@Argentina
By Karthik Raman | Dec 2, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Advertisement

Argentina will be keen to register their third successive victory in the FIFA World Cup 2022 when they face Australia in the round of 16. Lionel Messi and Co did well to overcome the poor start they made to this competition by winning their final two group matches in a convincing fashion. That helped them top Group C and reach the last-16 stage as one of the teams to look out for. Their run in the competition has been similar to the one Australia have also been enduring. 

Argentina vs AustraliaKey details
DateDecember 3
VenueAhmad bin Ali Stadium
Kickoff time in India12:30 am (Sunday)
Kickoff time in Argentina4:00 pm (Saturday)
Kickoff time in Australia6 am (Sunday)
Kickoff time in Qatar10:00 pm (Saturday)

After suffering a shock loss to Saudi Arabia in their opener, Argentina supporters could have been forgiven for fearing the worse. However, they did well to record back-to-back 2-0 victories in their final two group games to top Group C. Standing in their way is a spirited Australian side that followed a similar path to the South American country. After losing their opener 4-1 to France, Australia defeated Tunisia and Denmark to finish second in Group D. That mini-winning run will give them plenty of confidence ahead of this round-of-16 encounter.

Read More – Argentina vs Australia: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixture and Probable Lineups

Argentina vs Australia: Records, Stats & Goals

There have been some interesting battles unfolding between these two nations in the past. Unsurprisingly though the South American nation have the superior hand in this contest. Out of the seven matches played between them, Argentina have won been successful on five occasions. Australia have been on the right side of the scoreline only once and the remaining fixture ended in a draw. The last time they played each other was in a 2007 friendly match when Argentina won 1-0.

Key DetailsStats
Total matches7
Argentina won5
Australia won1
Draws1
Total Argentina goals12
Total Australia goals7
Biggest Argentina win4-2 (2005)
Biggest Australia win4-1 (1988)

Argentina vs Australia Head-to-Head Record

All competitionsResults
Australia lose to Argentina0-1
Australia lose to Argentina2-4
Argentina beat Australia2-0
Argentina beat Australia1-0
Australia draw Argentina1-1


Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Post

Advertisement

HIGHLIGHTS

Buzzwords