Badminton Para World Championships 2024: Final Medal Tally, India's medal haul and more

The BWF Para Badminton World Championships 2024, held in Pattaya, Thailand, witnessed a spectacular performance from the Indian contingent.

Suhas Yathiraj absolutely decimated Indonesia's Fredy Setiawan in the semi-final. (Image Credit: Twitter)
By Soumya | Feb 27, 2024 | 3 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

The BWF Para Badminton World Championships 2024, held in Pattaya, Thailand, witnessed a spectacular performance from the Indian contingent. The Indian shuttlers made their mark by securing 18 medals, including three gold, four silver, and 11 bronze.

The men’s singles categories were dominated by Indian athletes, with all three gold medals coming from these events. Leading the charge was Suhas Yathiraj, who recently won gold in the Asian Para Games 2023 and showcased his skills in the men’s singles SL 4 category, clinching gold by defeating Indonesia’s Fredy Setiawan with a score of 21-18, 21-8.

Read more: Badminton Asia Team Championship Women’s Team- Results and Score

Meanwhile, Pramod Bhagat claimed gold in the men’s singles SL 3 event by defeating world No. 1 Daniel Bethell of England with a score of 14-21, 21-15, 21-14. With this win, Bhagat clinched his third consecutive gold medal in the Badminton Para World Championships. Moreover, Bhagat also equalled Lin Dan’s record for five World titles. In the SH 6 category, Krishna Nagar emerged victorious, overcoming Naili Lin from the People’s Republic of China with a nail-biting score of 22-20, 22-20.

In the women’s singles SU 5 category, Manisha Ramadass put up a brave fight against Yang Qiuxia but had to settle for silver with a score of 21-16, 21-16. The doubles events also saw Indian shuttlers leaving their mark.

Read more: Badminton World Federation (BWF) Awards 2023: Who won what?

In the men’s doubles SU5 final, the Indian duo of Chirag Baretha and Rajkumar faced a tough challenge from Malaysia’s Muhammad Fareez Anuar and Cheah Liek Hou, eventually losing in straight games. The women’s doubles SH6 title decider saw Rachana Patel and Nithya Sre Sumathy Sivan having to retire due to unforeseen circumstances.

The women’s doubles SL 3/SU 5 final saw a spirited performance from Manasi Girishchandra Joshi and Thulasimathi Murugesan. However, they were defeated by the Indonesian team of Leani Ratri Oktila and Khalimatus Sadiyah Sukohandoko with a score of 22-20, 21-17.

Read more: Badminton Asian Team Championship 2024: PV Sindhu and HS Prannoy to lead Indian contingent

Indian Medalists at Badminton Para World Championships 2024

Sl No.Athlete (category)MedalCategory
1Suhas Yathiraj (Men’s Singles)GoldSL 4
2Sukant Kadam (Men’s Singles)BronzeSL 4
3Krishna Nagar (Men’s Singles)GoldSH 6
4Pramod Bhagat (Men’s Singles)GoldSL 3
5Nitesh Kumar (Men’s Singles)BronzeSL 3
6Manoj Sarkar (Men’s Singles)BronzeSL 3
7Manisha Ramadass (Women’s Singles)SilverSU 5
8Manasi Joshi (Women’s Singles)BronzeSL 3
9Palak Kohli (Women’s Singles)BronzeSL 4
10Nithya Sre Sumathy Sivan (Women’s Singles)BronzeSH 6
11Pramod Bhagat/Sukant Kadam (Men’s Doubles)BronzeSL 3/SL 4
12Nehal Gupta/Naveen Sivakumar (Men’s Doubles)BronzeSL 3/SL 4
13Chirag Baretha/Rajkumar (Men’s Doubles)SilverSU 5
14Manasi Joshi/Thulasimathi Murugesan (Women’s doubles)SilverSL 3/SU 5
15Mandeep Kaur/Manish Ramadass (Women’s doubles)BronzeSL 3/SU 5
16Rachana Patel/Nithya Sre Sumathy Sivan (Women’s doubles)SilverSH 6
17Chirag Baretha/Mandeep Kaur (Mixed doubles)BronzeSL 3/SU 5
18Pramod Bhagat/Manisha Ramadass (Mixed doubles)BronzeSL 3/SU 5

Badminton Para World Championships 2024 Medal Tally

The final medal tally of the top 10 teams at the Badminton Para World Championships 2024

6South Korea0246
9Hong Kong0101

Read more: Top 10 Greatest men’s Badminton players of all time

 Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.