Men's Asian Champions Trophy 2023: Pakistan, and China to take part in the edition

The Asian Champions Trophy 2023 hockey tournament be held at the SDAT-Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium from August 3 to 12, 2023.

Pakistan won the men's Asian Champions Trophy in 2013 (Image Credits - FIH)
By Abhiruchi Rout | Apr 24, 2023 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

The Asian Champions Trophy 2023 hockey tournament, which will be held at the SDAT-Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium here from August 3 to 12, 2023, will field squads from Pakistan and China, marking a significant development. Confirming the news, J. Sekar Manoharan, the president of the Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu told Sportstar here on Monday, “Since there were doubts expressed by the media on the two teams (China and Pakistan) participation, we are happy to inform that they have sent their confirmation.” 

The Asian Champions Trophy, which debuted in 2011, will be held in Chennai for the first time in an Indian city. Hockey India is attempting to bring international hockey tournaments to various cities across the nation. Odisha has recently been India’s top choice for hosting international competitions. Two World Cups in 2018 and 2023 as well as FIH Pro League matches have been held in the state. India, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, China, and Pakistan are among the six Asian countries that will participate in the competition.

Read More-Skipper Harmanpreet Singh talks about Asian Champions Trophy

Who were the officials present during the occasion? 

The 2023 edition of the tournament would be held in Chennai, India, as it was revealed a few weeks ago. Mr. I Paranthaman, the MLA of Egmore; Dr. Atulya Misra, IAS, Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Youth Welfare and Sports Development, Government of Tamil Nadu; Shri J. Meghanatha Reddy, IAS, Chief Executive Officer/Member Secretary, SDAT & Ex-Officio Director, Youth Affairs Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu; and Shri Sekar J Manoharan, the Treasurer of Hockey India were among the attendees at the Hero Asian Champions Trophy 2023 where the announcement took place. For the tournament’s administration, these officials will work with Hockey India.

Men’s Asian Champions Trophy

Pakistan is the most accomplished team in the history of the Men’s Asian Champions Trophy. Pakistan holds two titles for runners-up compared to India’s one, despite both countries having the same number of Asian Champions Trophy victories (3). India won the title championship at the inaugural Asian Champions Trophy in Ordos, China, in 2011, defeating Pakistan by a score of 4-2 in the penalty shootout. The next year, Pakistan avenged their last year’s loss by defeating India in the final by 5-4. The Men’s Asian Champions Trophy 2018 was called off due to rain in Muscat, Oman, and India and Pakistan were named joint winners. South Korea overcame Japan in the competition’s finals to win their first-ever gold medal in 2021, in which India defeated Pakistan to secure the bronze medal.

Read More-Hockey India announces Men’s Core group for National Coaching Camp; Find the names here