Hockey India announces Men's Core group for National Coaching Camp; Find the names here

Hockey India has named a 39-member Indian Men's Core group for the National Coaching Camp, which will take place from April 1st to May 21st, 2023.

Krishan Pathak in a file photo (image: Goggle)
By Abhiruchi Rout | Mar 31, 2023 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Hockey India has named a 39-member Indian Men’s Core group for the National Coaching Camp, which will take place from April 1st to May 21st, 2023. The team will compete in the FIH Hockey Pro League 2022–2023 against Belgium, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Argentina. The goal of the camp is to make them ready for the future challenges ahead. The core group includes India’s current captain Harmanpreet Singh, who is now the league’s top scorer with 11 goals, ace goalkeepers Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran and Krishan Bahadur Pathak, former captain Manpreet Singh, and many others.

In the FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-23, the Indian Men’s Hockey Team’s performance has been impressive so far. The team is presently in first place owing to their convincing victories against the defending world champions Germany and Australia in recent games played in Rourkela. India is now in first place in the tournament with 19 points from 8 games, followed by Spain with 17 points from 8 games and Argentina with 13 points from 12 games. For the National Coaching Camp, the squad will report to Interim Coaches David John, BJ Kariappa, and Shivendra Singh at SAI Centre in Bengaluru. The goal of the camp is to help the players improve their overall performance in future matches by honing their skills.

Read More-Hockey India wins the best organizer award for successfully hosting the 2023 FIH World Cup

Present Coach of the Indian men’s Hockey team

Craig Fulton was named the head coach of team India earlier in March 2023 by Hockey India. He succeeded Graham Reid of Australia, who had stepped down from the position after India’s disappointing run at the Hockey World Cup 2023.  Formerly, from 2014 until 2018, Fulton was the Irish Men’s Team’s Head Coach. Under his direction, the squad achieved a historic feat by qualifying for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. He received the 2015 FIH Coach of the Year award as a result of this accomplishment.

Fulton worked as the assistant coach for the defending Olympic champions Belgium after his time with the Irish team. He was a member of the Belgian coaching staff when they won the gold medal in Tokyo Olympics and the World Title in Bhubaneswar in 2018. After leading the Belgian club to a Belgium League victory, he was also voted Belgium Coach of the Year 2023. Fulton had a distinguished hockey playing career with the South African team, earning 195 international caps over a ten-year period.

Members of the core group

Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran, Suraj Karkera, Pawan Malik, Prashant Kumar, Jarmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Gurinder Singh, Jugraj Singh, Mandeep Mor, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Sanjay, Yashdeep Siwach, Dipsan Tirkey, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Moirangthem Rabichandra Singh, Shamsher Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Rajkumar Pal, Sumit, Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mohd. Raheel Mouseen, Maninder Singh, S. Karthi, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Abhishek, Dilpreet Singh, Sukhjeet Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Shilanand Lakra, Manjeet, Pawan Rajbhar

Read More-Hockey India Awards 2022 and 2021: Find Out all the Winners