World's second-fastest 10k woman runner to make debut in Bengaluru

Emmaculate Anyango Achol, the world’s second-fastest 10K woman runner, will headline the 16th edition of TCS World 10K Bengaluru.

Emmaculate Anyango Achol in a file photo (image credits- twitter@ians_india)
By Soumya | Apr 13, 2024 | 3 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Emmaculate Anyango Achol, the world’s second-fastest 10K woman runner, will headline the 16th edition of TCS World 10K Bengaluru, scheduled for April 28. The World Athletics Gold Label Road Race is a USD 210,000 prize money event featuring some of the world’s most accomplished road and track and field athletes.

Among the star attractions, this year is Kenya’s Anyango. Anyango clocked an excellent 28:57 in Valencia while finishing behind her teammate Agnes Ngetich, who posted a world record 28:46 there. A silver medallist in the 2019 African junior championships in 3000m, Anyango narrowly missed the Belgarde podium in this year’s World cross-country championships.

Read more: Aishwarya Mishra wins dramatic silver at the Asian Athletics Championships

“I am very excited to be in Bengaluru for the first time for this incredible event, which has gained a worldwide reputation for being one of the best 10K races. I am very much looking forward to being there and clock my best. The field of runners in the women’s category is quite strong this year and I love a good challenge,” expressed Anyango.

Five of her countrymates will also take the women’s starting line-up in Bengaluru, with timings faster than the event course record (30:35). Lilian Rengeruk Kasait (29:32), Faith Chepkoech (29:50), Loice Chemnung (29:57), Cintia Chepngeno (30:08), and Grace Nawowuna (30:27) make their team formidable. Anyango’s inclusion in this epic line-up draws attention to a power-packed elite women’s race to the title.

Read more: Athletics Federation of India names 6-member team for World Cross Country Championships

Rengeruk and Chepngeno participated in the epic race in Valencia, while Chepkoech and Chemnung clocked their bests from Castellon and Paris. Nawowuna did it in Lille. Two Ethiopians, Aberash Minsewo, this year’s Tata Mumbai Marathon winner, and Lemlem Hailu, 2022 World Indoor 3000m champion, add further shine to the women’s start lists. The winners in the men’s and women’s categories will each take home USD 26,000. A course record bonus of USD 8,000 is also in the offing.

Read more: World Athletics Indoor Championships 2024: Femke Bol breaks own record to clinch gold in Glasgow

A mouth-watering lineup in the men’s category

Meanwhile, in the elite men’s lineup, Kenya’s Peter Mwaniki Aila (29) entered with the fastest time, 26:59. He achieved this mark while finishing third earlier this year in Valencia. In that process, Peter became the nineteenth runner in the World to run the 10K distance in under 27 minutes.

His country-mate and 2019 African junior champion over 10,000m – Bravin Kipkogei Kiptoo – is credited with 27:02 in Madrid last year and along with Bravin Kiprop, who clocked an impressive 27:16 this February at Castellon, Spain, will keep the race interesting.

Read more: Mirabai Chanu secures her spot for the Paris Olympics, placing 11th at the IWF World Cup

Two more Kenyans, Hillary Chepkwony, last year’s third-place finisher, and Patrick Mosin, the runner-up in Castellon the previous year, are expected to provide the necessary boost to return fast timings here. Two young runners, John Wele from Tanzania and Boki Diriba from Ethiopia may also pose a threat to the Kenyans.

Read more: Britain bids to host the 2029 World Athletics Championships

List of international athletes at the TCS World 10K 


  1. Peter Mwaniki (Kenya)
  2. Bravin Kipkogei (Kenya)
  3. Bravin Kiprop (Kenya)
  4. Patrick Mosin (Kenya)
  5. Hillary Chepkwony (Kenya)
  6. John Wele (Tanzania)
  7. Boki Diriba (Ethiopia)


  1. Emmaculate Anyango Achol (Kenya)
  2. Lilian Kasait Rengeruk (Kenya)
  3. Faith Chepkoech (Kenya)
  4. Loice Chemnung (Kenya)
  5. Cintia Chepngeno (Kenya)
  6. Grace Nawowuna (Kenya)
  7. Aberash Minsewo (Ethiopia)
  8. Lemlem Hailu (Ethiopia)

Read more: India announces 14-member squad for World Athletics Race Walking Team 2024

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.