India announces 14-member squad for World Athletics Race Walking Team 2024

The AFI has announced a 14-member strong contingent for the upcoming World Athletics Race Walking Team 2024 set to take place in Turkey.

Priyanka Goswami at the Commonwealth Games 2022 (Image Credits - Instagram/ @priyanka___goswami)
By Soumya | Apr 13, 2024 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) announced a 14-member strong contingent for the upcoming World Athletics Race Walking Team 2024 set to take place in Antalya, Turkey. This year’s World Athletics Race Walking Team Championship will feature five events.

These include senior men’s and women’s races covering 20km each and junior category races for both genders covering 10km. However, there is also a slight change in this year’s

The 35 km racewalking event for both genders has been removed from this edition. Instead, a 42.195 km marathon with mixed team relay is slotted in for the same. Teams consisting of one male and one female will race twice. Indian racewalkers will look to secure Paris Olympic Quotas. India has already secured four Paris Olympic places bifurcated into 3 men’s quota and 1 female quota. Naturally, the mixed relay quota will be an added advantage.

Read more: Paris Olympics/Paralympics 2024: What are the qualifying events for March?

Ram Baboo and Akshdeep Singh will lead a strong Indian contingent

India’s challenge in Turkey will be led by talented and experienced racewalkers Ram Baboo and Akshdeep Singh. On the other hand, Priyanka Goswami will take charge of the women’s challenge in Turkey. A total of 10 members- 5 in men’s and 5 in women’s categories have been announced for the World Athletics Race Walking Team Championships.

On the other hand, AFI has also given a green signal for the team of the mixed relay event. The mixed relay is an Olympic qualifying event where the top 22 athletes will battle it out for a spot in the Olympics. India already has Akshdeep Singh, Vikas Singh and Paramjeet Bisht in the men’s 20 km race walk. While Priyanka is the sole women’s competitor in the women’s 20 km race walk.

Naturally, AFI has entrusted the task of getting the Olympic quota in the mixed team event to two of the most experienced racewalkers. Subsequently, Priyanka Goswami and Akshdeep Singh will team up to form the first team. The other team is comprised of Munita P and Paramjeet Singh. It will be interesting to see whether the experience of Priyanka & Akshdeep make any dent in the first-ever race walking mixed relay event.

Read more: Mirabai Chanu secures her spot for the Paris Olympics, placing 11th at the IWF World Cup

Full Indian squad for the World Race Walking Team Championships

Men’s Team 

  1. Suraj Panwar
  2. Ram Baboo
  3. Vikash Singh
  4. Serving S
  5. Arshpreet Singh

Women’s Team

  1. Manju Rani
  2. Payal
  3. Pooja Kumawat
  4. Mokavi M
  5. Ramandeep Kaur

Mixed Relay Team

  1. Priyanka Goswami/Akshdeep Singh
  2. Munita P/Paramjeet Singh

Read more: Aishwarya Mishra wins dramatic silver at the Asian Athletics Championships

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.