IPL 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders And Their Horror Association With Centuries

Kolkata Knight Riders batters have scored only one century in their entire history of the IPL and that came in the first match of the tournament in 2008.

Kolkata Knight Riders have hit only one century in the history of the IPL and that was in the first match in 2008. (Image credit: Twitter)
By Siddharth vishwanathan | Mar 14, 2022 | 3 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

In the Indian Premier League, scoring a century is a big thing for a batter. A century in the IPL raises the profile of the batsman and ensures that he is the next big thing to watch out for. The more centuries a batsman scores for the particular franchise, the winning percentage for the team increases. However, that might not seem to be the case for the Kolkata Knight Riders franchise. The two-time IPL champions, who won the Trophy in 2012 and 2014, have a nightmare record when it comes to batsmen scoring centuries in the Indian Premier League.

In fact, the relationship of a KKR batsman with a century is so nightmarish that it is unbelievable. For the entire history of the IPL, only one Kolkata Knight Riders batter has scored a century. And that too, in the first match of the tournament. The IPL has seen over 1000 matches being played in its history. Yet, after game 1, no Kolkata Knight Riders batter has hit a century.

Read More: Kolkata Knight Riders Squad Analysis

The only KKR player to have hit a century is the current coach of the team. In the very first match of the tournament, Kolkata Knight Riders’ Brendon McCullum blasted 158 which included 13 sixes. McCullum’s 158 helped Kolkata Knight Riders beat Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium by a massive margin. Since then, no KKR player has hit a century.

Read More: Kolkata Knight Riders Full Schedule in IPL 2022

Kolkata Knight Riders in Terrible Company

When it comes to centuries, KKR are at the very bottom of the table. The now-defunct teams of Sahara Pune Warriors, Gujarat Lions, and Kochi Tuskers Kerala give them company. These three teams saw no centuries being hit in their short tenure. Yet, the two-time champions are in a big nightmare because they have been on the scene since 2008. Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Gujarat Lions, and Sahara Pune Warriors lasted just a couple of seasons. Here is the entire list of teams with the most centuries in the history of the IPL.

TeamsNumber of Centuries
Chennai Super Kings9
Deccan Chargers2
Delhi Capitals10
Gujarat Lions0
Punjab Kings13
Kochi Tuskers Kerala0
Kolkata Knight Riders1
Mumbai Indians4
Sahara Pune Warriors0
Rajasthan Royals9
Rising Pune Supergiant2
Royal Challengers Bangalore14
Sunrisers Hyderabad3

In the list, one can see that Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab, and Delhi Capitals lead the century tally among batters. But, the common trend to all three teams is that none of them have ever won the IPL title. Thus, there seems to be an inverse proportion to the number of centuries scored to title wins. KKR, Mumbai Indians, and Sunrisers Hyderabad have less than five centuries in the history of the IPL. Yet, these three have won eight out of the 14 titles. Chennai Super Kings are the other team with four title wins. Rajasthan Royals and the now-defunct Deccan Chargers have won one each.

Read More: IPL 2022 Live News and Updates

But, this stat of KKR is truly bewildering. Their century tally literally gives the odds of one in a thousand a whole new different meaning altogether.

Related Post