IPL 2022 KKR vs PBKS: Umesh Yadav masterclass restricts Punjab Kings to 137 runs

India fast bowler Umesh Yadav continued his redemption in IPL 2022 as he picked up four wickets for KKR to restrict PBKS to a moderate total on Friday.

Umesh Yadav (Courtesy: iplt20.com)
By Samrat Chakraborty | Apr 1, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

India fast bowler Umesh Yadav continued his redemption through the IPL 2022 as he picked up a four-wicket haul to restrict PBKS to 137 runs at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Friday. 

Asked to bat by KKR captain Shreyas Iyer, factoring in the ‘swimming pool of dew’, PBKS lost their openers Mayank Agarwal (1) and Shikhar Dhawan (16) cheaply. The southpaw tried to show some resilience early as he hit one boundary and a six but was sent packing in the 15th delivery that he faced. 

READ MORE: Pravin Tambe Biopic: WATCH veteran breaks down after watching ‘Kaun Pravin Tambe’ 

Bhanuka Rajapaksa plays important cameo knock

However, unperturbed by the early blows, Sri Lanka wicket keeper-batter Bhanuka Rajapaksa gave a good account of himself as he notched up 31 runs off nine deliveries which included three boundaries and as many sixes. 

Later, Liam Livingstone (19) and U-19 India star Raj Bawa (11), chipped in with crucial runs but failed to convert their starts. 

Shahrukh Khan (0), meanwhile, threw away his wicket with a poorly timed shot  while Harpreet Brar (14) and Odean Smith (9 not out) also failed to show resilience against the formidable KKR bowling line-up. 

Kagiso Rabada stars with the bat

However, South Africa fast bowler Kagiso Rabada who replaced Sandeep Sharma in the match, opened up a late fightback as he hit 25 runs off 16 deliveries to help his side reach a moderate total. His innings was laced with four boundaries and one six. 

Umesh Yadav maintains purple patch

Yadav maintained his purple patch in the IPL 2022 to return figures of 4/23 after running through the PBKS top and lower-order. His fellow New Zealand quick Tim Southee, meanwhile, picked up two wickets while Shivam Mavi, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell scalped one each. 

Related Post