India's spectacular start: Bumrah's early breakthrough, Virat's stunning catch sends Mitchell Marsh packing

India off to a brilliant start as Bumrah strikes early; Virat takes a blinder at first slip, Michell Marsh makes his way back to the dressing room!!

Jasprit Bumrah was rushed for the T20 WC 2022. (Image: Twitter)
By Soumya | Oct 8, 2023 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Team India is battling probably one of the toughest opponents of the ICC World Cup, team Australia. Australia has almost been one of the royalties of ICC tournaments, having won all the cup competitions that are up for grabs. However, when it comes to the ODI World Cup, the men in yellow have won the event a whopping five times. On the other hand, India too has started as favourites in each of these ICC events in recent years. But, the men in blue have not been able to stitch together a title-winning run together. But when it comes to battle team India at their home, it will be going to be a very difficult task.

Naturally, India is showing its dominance on the pitch. Australia has a nervy start to begin with and soon the first kill of the match has come. In-form batsman Mitchell Marsh was the first wicket to go down today courtesy of a beauty of a delivery from Jasprit Bumrah. Mitchell Marsh hangs his bat at it, and the regulation outside edge goes to Kohli’s left, who dives acrobatically and takes it with two hands. Tumbles over. That’s a Test match line and length from Bumrah which has produced a big wicket. Bumrah is pumped and so are the Indians and the crowd. Australia subsequently lost their opening batsman Mitch Marsh for a duck, 0(6). India is definitely not missing Gill the slip catcher for the time being!

To put into perspective, given below is the fielding supremacy of India, where none other than Virat Kohli tops the list. Subsequently, the top four fielders are:

Most catches for India in ODI WC (non-WK)
15 – Virat Kohli*
14 – Anil Kumble
12 – Kapil Dev
12 – Sachin Tendulkar

The playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

If you are interested to know more about the ICC World Cup 2023, read here:

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.

Related Post