Women's T20 Challenge Velocity: Players to watch out for

The 2022 season of the Women's T20 Challenge will be played from May 23 to May 28 at Pune. Velocity will begin its campaign on May 24.

Team Velocity are preparing for the tournament. (Image: Twitter/IPL)

The 2022 season of the Women’s T20 Challenge will be played from May 23 to May 28 at Pune’s MCA stadium where the Trailblazers play against Supernovas in the first game. Velocity will begin its campaign on the next day. However, the tournament began in 2018 with a one-off exhibition match in Mumbai. The next edition saw three teams competing with each other where Supernovas defended their title in Jaipur as well. In 2020, the tournament took place in the UAE where Smriti Mandhana led Trailblazers won the title whereas due to COVID-19, the tournament didn’t take place in 2021.

Let’s have a look at the players to watch out for from Velocity:

Kiran Navgire:

The Nagaland batter Kiran Navgire made headlines in the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy. She stole the limelight with her stunning knock of 162 off 76 deliveries against Arunachal Pradesh in the tournament. Her ton comprised 16 sixes and 10 boundaries. However, Navgire scored 525 runs in 7 innings, at an average of 131.25. She has scored runs at a strike rate of 172.69, including a century and four half-centuries. She has hit 35 sixes and 54 boundaries in the tournament as well. It will be interesting to see how team Velocity will use her where they already have two quality openers – Shafali Verma and Laura Wolvaardt.

Read More: IPL 2022: Akhtar believes Dhoni can turn Chennai Super Kings head coach next

Sneh Rana:

Experienced India all-rounder Sneh Rana is one of the dependable players in world cricket right now who can turn the table single-handedly with her all-round show. She was in formidable form in the Women’s World Cup earlier this year, finishing with 10 wickets in 7 innings. Ever since she returned to the team a couple of years back after more than 5 years, she has become a regular face on the team and her all-round abilities have been helping the side across formats too. She recently led Railways to another T20 title win and being the deputy of Deepti Sharma, her form will help the side to do well in the tournament as well.

Aarti Kedar

Aarti Kedar was the highest wicket-taker in the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy and her form earned her a place in the Women’s T20 Challenge. Kedar, while playing for Maharashtra in the tournament, picked up 13 wickets in 8 innings at a reasonable economy of 4.78 and an excellent average of 10.30 as well. The left-arm spinner has played for her senior state team for the very first time for the 2021-22 season. However, team Velocity has the senior spinners like Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana and Radha Yadav in the team, it will be interesting to see how the youngster will performance amid this formidable squad.

Read More: Tristan Stubbs: MI debutant records second-best strike rate after AB de Villiers 

Velocity Squad:

Deepti Sharma (C), Sneh Rana (VC), Shafali Verma, *Ayabonga KhakaK, Kiran Navgire, *Kathryn Cross, Keerthi James, *Laura Wolvaardt, Maya Sonawane, *Natthakan Chantham, Radha Yadav, Aarti Kedar, Shivali Shinde, Simran Bahadur, Yastika Bhatia, Pranavi Chandra (* Overseas player)

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post