Indian Grand Prix 4 2023: Shaili Singh wins with second-best leap in the long jump

19-year-old Shaili Singh outperformed Aishwaya Babu (6.73), JJ Shobha, and V Neena (6.66), Mayookha Johnu (6.64), M Prajusha, Nayana James

Shaili Singh at the u20 world championships in Nairobi. (Image: Twitter)
By Pushkar Pandey | Apr 17, 2023 | 3 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Shaili Singh won the women’s long jump gold medal at the Indian Grand Prix 4 2023 athletics meet in Bangalore, Karnataka, with a 6.76m effort on Saturday. Shaili Singh’s effort was the second-best by an Indian after the illustrious Anju Bobby George. She also qualified for the Asian Games 2023, which will be held in Hangzhou, China, later this year, by surpassing the Athletics Federation of India’s (AFI) 6.45m women’s long jump qualifying standard.

The 19-year-old Shaili Singh outperformed Aishwaya Babu (6.73), JJ Shobha, and V Neena (6.66), Mayookha Johnu (6.64), M Prajusha, Nayana James, and Ancy Sojan (6.55) at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium and lowered her personal best by 28 cm, which allowed her to take first place on the list of the best long jumps by an Indian woman. The only one that is better is Anju Bobby George‘s 6.83m national record.

Other athletes

Nayana James (6.53 meters), the silver medalist, also passes the Asian Games qualifying standards. Manpreet Kaur, a Rio Olympian, won the gold medal in the women’s shot put after throwing her best distance of 16.81 meters. She also passes the 16.30 meters qualifying mark for the Asian Games. As for the women’s pole vault, Baranica Elangovan won gold with a throw of 4.10 meters. The athlete from Tamil Nadu also passed to meet the 4.10m qualification standard for the upcoming Asian Games. Amoj Jacob, who ran the 400-meter men’s race in 46.13 seconds, took first place. The New Delhi runner also met the Asian Games qualification standard, which is 46.17 seconds.

With times of 10.53s and 20.78s, Amlan Borgohain won the 100 and 200 meters, respectively. The three fastest half-lapper times by Indians are currently held by the Assamese sprinter. In the AFI Federation Cup in Kozhikode last year, he set the national record of 20.52 seconds, and in the National Games in Gandhinagar back in October, he achieved 20.55 seconds. Jyothi Yarraji, who holds the 110-meter hurdles national record, won the women’s 200-meter race. Manu DP and Rohit Yadav competed fiercely in the men’s javelin throw event.

As of this year, Manu DP’s gold-winning javelin throw of 84.33 meters leads the world, while Rohit Yadav’s 81.81 meters and Shivpal Singh’s 79.70 meters both exceeded the Asian Games qualifying mark. Gold in the men’s shot put went to Olympian Tajinderpal Singh Toor. There was a total of 21 events in the fourth Indian Grand Prix, with 11 for men and 10 for women.

Read More-USATF and Event organizer plan Innovative Athletics events ahead of Los Angeles 2028 Olympics

Results and Medal Winners


100mAmlan Borgohain (10.53s)Rahul Kumar G (10.77s)Tejas Shirse (10.89s)
200mAmlan Borgohain (20.78s) Animesh Kujur (21.26s)Muhammed Anas Yahiya (21.35s)
Long JumpMuhammed Anees Yahiya (7.87m)Rishabh Rishishwar (7.76m) Arya S (7.64m)
400mAmoj Jacob (46.13s)Santosh Kumar T (47.24s)Shubham Dattatray Deshmukh (47.50s)
5000mGulveer Singh (14:08.33s)Murali Kumar Gavit (14:29.46s)Rahul (14:32.02)
1500mKrishan Kumar (3:49.96s)Abhishek Pal (3:50.06s)Prakash Gadade (3:51.49s)
Triple JumpMohammed Salahuddin (15.77m)Yuva Raj (15.56m)Jwngsar Basumatary (15.22m)
Javelin throwManu DP (84.33m)Rohit Yadav (81.81m)Shivpal Singh (79.70m)
High jumpAadarsh Ram (2.10m) Aniket Subhash Mane (2.05m)Kaustubha Jaiswal (2.05m)
Shot putTajinderpal Singh Toor (21.20m)Karanveer Singh (19.20m)Aniket (17.30m)


100mArchana Suseendran (11.79s)Daneshwari T (11.85s)Agasara Nandini (12.06)
200mJyothi Yarraji (23.60s)Archana Suseendran (23.86s)Daneshwari T (24.59s)
400mJyothika Sri Dandi (54.15s)Rajitha Kunja (55.57s)Twinkle Pundir (56.75s)
1500mRashi CM (4:41.58s)Chitra Unnikrishnan (4:42.90s) –
5000mAnkita (16:08.78)Preenu Yadav (17:07.53)Antima Pal (17:13.74)
Shot putManpreet Kaur (16.81m)Abha Khatua (15.98m)Narzary Tunlai (14.30m)
Pole VaultBaranica Elangovan (4.10m) Sindhushree G (3.60m) –
Javelin throwAnjani Kumari (47.03m) Hemamalini Neelakanda (46.27m) Uma Choudhary (45.73m)
Long JumpShaili Singh (6.76m)Nayana James (6.53m)Karthika Gothandapani (6.15m)
3000m steeplechaseSushmita Tigga (10:53.94s)Priti Chaudhary (11:20.70s)Shaheen Dharwad (12:32.82)

Read More-Indian Grand Prix 3, Athletics: How did Murali Sreeshankar and Hima Das perform?