After Road Safety World Series win, Yuvraj Singh has now won all cricket tournaments on earth

Yuvraj Singh has now won potentially every cricket tournament that he has participated in after victory in the Road Safety World Series final against Sri Lanka.

Yuvraj click a selfie after the series, Image credit: Facebook/Yuvraj Singh
By Siddharth vishwanathan | Mar 22, 2021 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

The Road Safety World Series T20 tournament saw India Legends, captained by Sachin Tendulkar defeating Sri Lanka legends by 14 runs to win the title. The win was possible due to the brilliance of Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan. Yuvraj blasted 60 off 41 balls which included four boundaries and four sixes while Yusuf smashed 62 off 36 balls. Yusuf’s day got better as he took two huge wickets of Tillakaratne Dilshan and Sanath Jayasuriya.

Yuvraj once again showed that in the finals, his contribution is immense. There was one meme on social media that went viral regarding Yuvraj. One photo was of him struggling against Sri Lanka in the 2014 ICC World T20 final in Mirpur in which he scored just 11 off 21 balls.

That particular moment is pointed out as the period in which Yuvraj’s international career reached a crisis point. However, seven years later, Yuvraj has achieved redemption against the same opponents in grand style. 

Yuvraj wins everything

With the Road Safety World Series win, Yuvraj has now won every major tournament that has been played in cricket. Yuvraj has won the U19 World Cup in 2000. The left-hander shared the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy with Sri Lanka in 2002 as the final was abandoned.

Yuvraj played a pivotal role in the 2007 ICC World T20. Against England, he smashed the fastest fifty off 12 balls which included six sixes in one over bowled by Stuart Broad. In the semi-final, Yuvraj smashed 70 off 30 balls vs Australia. His all-round exploits in the 2011 World Cup helped India end their 28-year wait for the prize.

Yuvraj has achieved IPL glory in 2016 for Sunrisers Hyderabad, as well as for Mumbai Indians in 2019. India’s ultimate match-winner is now a certified great when it comes to major tournaments even now.  

Related Post