FIH Pro League: 22-member Indian women's hockey team named for Germany matches

The games will take place over the weekend of March 12th and 13th at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium.

Indian women's hockey team; Credit: Hockey India

Hockey India picked a 22-member Indian women’s hockey team on Wednesday to face World No.5 Germany in forthcoming FIH Women’s Hockey Pro League matches, which will take place in Bhubaneswar, Odisha. The games will take place over the weekend of March 12th and 13th at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium, as per a Hockey India press release. The matches will be telecast live on Star Sports Select 2, Star Sports Select 2 HD, and Hotstar.

The side will be captained by Savita, with Deep Grace Ekka serving as vice captain. The squad will also have two newcomers – promising young defender Akshata Abaso Dhekale of Hockey Maharashtra and striker Deepika Jr of Hockey Haryana, both of whom were named to the senior core group after outstanding performances in the Hockey India National Championship.

 The 22-member squad for the double-header against Germany includes Savita, Bichu Devi Kharibam. Defenders Deep Grace Ekka, Gurjit Kaur, Nikki Pradhan, Udita and Akshata Abaso Dhekale while the midfielders selected are Nisha, Salima Tete, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Jyoti, Monika, Neha, Navjot Kaur and Sonika who returns to the team after nearly two years. The forward line will see Rajwinder Kaur, Sharmila Devi, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Sangita Kumari, Mariana Kujur and Deepika Jr. Additionally, Rajani Etimarpu, Ishika Chaudhary, Namita Toppo have been named as standbys for the double-header. 

READ MORE – FIH Hockey Pro League: Indian women’s hockey team overcome China 2-1

Janneke Schopman, chief coach of the Indian women’s hockey team, gave his thoughts on the team selection. “It’s an exciting time for us playing yet again two back-to-back Pro League games at home against an esteemed opponent. Germany is a very consistent team with probably the best basic skills around the world. They defend very well and are quick to attack. I feel we have selected a nice mix of young talent and experience and we’re looking to build on our performance vs Spain,” he explained.

Indian women’s team: 


1. Savita (Captain)

2. Bichu Devi Kharibam 


3. Deep Grace Ekka (Vice Captain)

4. Gurjit Kaur  

5. Nikki Pradhan 

6. Udita 

7. Akshata Abaso Dhekale


8. Nisha  

9. Salima Tete 

10. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam 

11. Jyoti 

12. Monika 

13. Neha 

14. Navjot Kaur 

15. Sonika 


16. Rajwinder Kaur

17. Sharmila Devi  

18. Navneet Kaur 

19. Lalremsiami 

20. Sangita Kumari 

21. Mariana Kujur 



1.Rajani Etimarpu

2.Ishika Chaudhary 

3.Namita Toppo

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post