Asian Netball Championships 2022: Format, History, Past Winners

Check out the history and past winners of the Asian Netball Championships 2022 (ANC), which is slated to run from September 3 to September 11, 2022, will be held at the OCBC Hall in Singapore.

Indian players in action against Brunei at Asian Netball Championships 2018 (Credits - Netball Singapore/Facebook)
By Abhiruchi Rout | Sep 2, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

The Asian Netball Championships 2022 (ANC), which is slated to run from September 3 to September 11, 2022, will be held at the OCBC Hall in Singapore. The top two teams will receive automatic berths to the Netball World Cup 2023. This tournament is held every two years and will feature 11 teams. Singapore, Sri Lanka, India, Malaysia, Thailand, Brunei, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Maldives, Hong Kong, and the Philippines are the participating nations. The Covid-19 pandemic led to the cancellation of the 2020 championships.

Asian Netball Championships 2022: Format

There are two group stages in the competition in which the results of the first stage will determine the groupings for the second stage. Teams will form a partnership within their group after the second round. These play-offs will decide overall rankings for the teams in the middle and lower groups of the second round. The two games in the top group will serve as the semifinals of the competition. While the losers will compete with each other for third place, the winners will be vying for the title.

Asian Netball Championships 2022: History

The Asian Netball Championship is a netball competition conducted every two years that features teams from all around Asia. The inaugural edition took place in 1985 in which Malaysia emerged as the champion. The first seven editions were conducted every four years before switching to every two years from 2012. Sri Lanka is the most successful team winning the championship five times overall. The last edition was also won by Sri Lanka in which the team defeated Singapore 69-50.

Asian Netball Championships 2022: Past Winners

Year1st2nd3rdVenueNumber of teams
1985MalaysiaSri LankaSingaporeKuala Lumpur, Malaysia5
1989Sri LankaSingaporeMalaysiaNew Delhi, India4
1993Hong KongSingaporeSri LankaHong Kong5
1997Sri LankaMalaysiaSingaporeSingapore5
2001Sri LankaSingaporeMalaysiaColombo, Sri Lanka8
2005SingaporeMalaysiaSri LankaToa Payoh Sports Hall, Singapore7
2009Sri LankaSingaporeMalaysiaJuara Stadium, Bukit Kiara, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2012SingaporeSri LankaMalaysiaSugathadasa Indoor Stadium, Colombo, Sri Lanka10
2014SingaporeSri LankaMalaysiaSingapore Sports Hub OCBC Arena, Singapore10
2016MalaysiaSri LankaSingaporeThailand9
2018Sri LankaSingaporeMalaysiaSingapore Sports Hub OCBC Arena, Singapore12