Wimbledon 2022: Schedule, Live Streaming, Where to Watch, Prize Money - Know all about the Grand Slam here

Also known as The Championships, it is the oldest tennis competition in the world and the most popular Grand Slam.

Roger Federer has won eight Wimbledon titles and was the first to 20 Grand Slam titles. (Image credit: Wimbledon Twitter)

When one thinks of the most prestigious tennis tournament in the world, the first name that comes to mind is Wimbledon. Also known as The Championships, it is the oldest tennis competition in the world and the most popular Grand Slam. Ask any tennis fan what was the first big tournament they had heard of, and more often than not, the answer will be Wimbledon. It is one of the four Grand Slams that are played in a season, the other three being the Australian Open, the French Open, and the US Open. The tournament is played on grass, the traditional surface on which tennis was first played. There has always been a strict dress code for the oldest Grand Slam in the world. Competitors are required to be dressed in all-white as per the traditions, apart from the royal patronage.

Where is Wimbledon held?

The Championships have been held every year since 1877 at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London. It used to be held at the Worple Road tennis court from 1877 to 1921 before being permanently moved to the Church Road tennis court. Both courts are under the All England Club. Wimbledon’s Centre Court was fitted with a retractable roof in 2009 to reduce the amount of time lost due to rain. A roof was installed over No. 1 Court in 2019, along with a number of additional upgrades, including cushioned chairs, a table, and ten individually operable cameras per court to catch the games.

Read More – French Open 2022: Schedule, Prize Money, Where to Watch; Know all about the Grand Slam here

Who has won the competition more than anyone?

Swiss tennis great Roger Federer has the most wins in Wimbledon history with eight. At the height of his powers, Federer was absolutely unplayable on grass and The Championships was his stomping ground. The Swiss won five consecutive titles at the most prestigious Grand Slam from 2003 to 2007 in the Gentlemen’s Singles division, before winning it three more times in 2009, 2012 and 2017. The Swiss is considered by many as the greatest tennis player to have walked the face of the earth and his record proves the same.

Most titles (men’s)

Roger Federer8
William Renshaw 7
Pete Sampras7
Novak Djokovic6
Laurence Doherty5

In the Ladies’ Singles division, Martina Navratilova of the United States of America has won the competition more than anyone. The American won a whopping nine titles, which included a six-year winning streak from 1982 to 1987. Navratilova had also won the trophy in 1978, 1979 and 1990. Federer might be the more popular of the two, but numbers-wise, Navratilova holds the more impressive record at The Championships.

Most titles (women’s)

Martina Navratilova9
Helen Wills Moody8
Dorothea Lambert Chambers7
Steffi Graf7
Serena Williams7

Read More – Richard Gasquet achieves double milestone after beating Daniil Medvedev in Geneva

Who are the reigning Wimbledon champions?

In the Gentlemen’s Singles division, Serbian tennis player and current world no. 1 Novak Djokovic is the holder of the Wimbledon crown. Djokovic won a hotly contested final against Italy’s Matteo Berrettini in 2021. The match ended with the Serb taking a comeback win after going a set down. The first set of the match went to a tie-break which his Italian opponent had won. The score at the end of the match was 6-7 (4-7), 6-4, 6-4, 6-3.

In the Ladies’ Singles division, former tennis player Ashleigh Barty holds the Wimbledon championship. 2022 will see a new winner as the Aussie had retired from tennis earlier this year. Barty had to overcome the challenge of Karolina Pliskova in the final, a match that ended in three sets. The score at the end of the tie was 6-3, 6-7 (4-7), 6-3 in the Aussie’s favour who was, at the time, a dominant world no. 1 in the sport.

Current Wimbledon champions

CategoryWinners (2021)
Men’s singlesNovak Djokovic
Women’s singlesAsh Barty
Men’s doublesNikola Mektic/Mate Pavic
Women’s doublesHsieh Su-wei/Elise Mertens
Mixed doublesDesirae Krawczyk/ Neal Skupski

When is the 2022 Wimbledon scheduled?

The 135th edition of the Wimbledon Championships will be held from June 27 to July 10, with Sunday being played for the first time. It will also be the 100th anniversary of the first championships held at the Centre Court. Traditionally, Wimbledon has always been scheduled during a period from the end of June to the beginning of July. It takes place almost exactly a month after the French Open or Roland Garros, and this year will be no different.

Wimbledon 2022 Dates: What is the format?

128 players enter The Championships’ main draw every year, both for the Ladies’ and Gentlemen’s Singles categories. These players go through a series of elimination matches before only one victor remains. Overall, there are seven rounds in the main draw of Wimbledon. These are the first round, second round, third round, fourth round, quarter-final, semi-final and final.

Read More – Iga Swiatek’s ridiculous numbers during her incredible winning run this season

Competition stageDates
First roundJune 27-28
Second roundJune 29-30
Third roundJuly 1-2
Fourth roundJuly 3-4
Quarter-finalJuly 5-6
Semi-finalJuly 7 (Ladies’), July 8 (Gentlemen’s)
FinalJuly 9 (Ladies’), July 10 (Gentlemen’s)

Wimbledon 2022 seeds


Novak Djokovic1
Rafael Nadal2
Casper Ruud3
Stefanos Tsitsipas4
Carlos Alcaraz5
Felix Auger-Aliassime6
Hubert Hurkacz7
Matteo Berrettini8
Cameron Norrie9
Jannik Sinner10


Iga Swiatek1
Anett Kontaveit2
Ons Jabeur3
Paula Badosa4
Maria Sakkari5
Karolina Pliskova6
Danielle Collins7
Jessica Pegula8
Garbine Muguruza9
Emma Raducanu10

What is the prize money for the 2022 Wimbledon Championships?

Although the official prize money breakdown for the 2022 Championships has not been revealed yet by the orgaisers, there have been reports that suggest a certain amount of prize money. The figures, however, are not different from those of 2021. In that year, the winner of the Gentlemen’s and Ladies’ Singles winners received 1.7 million euros each. Doubles pairs received 480,000 euros each and mixed pairs received 100,000 euros.

CategoryPrize Money (2021)
Gentlemen’s Singles1.7 million euros
Ladies’ Singles1.7 million euros
Gentlemen’s Doubles480,000 euros
Ladies’ Doubles480,000 euros
Mixed Doubles100,000 euros

Where to watch 2022 Wimbledon Championships? Live Streaming details

UK – Eurosport UK, BBC TV & Radio

USA – ESPN, Tennis Channel

Canada – TSN Canada

Australia – Nine

Africa – Canal Plus International (Afrique)

Asia – Disney Networks Singapore

India – Star India

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.