Queens of tennis: Below is the list of best-ever female players in the sport

Let us look at the greatest-ever women's tennis players who have dominated the game till now:

Martina Navratilova file photo; Credit: Wimbledon Twitter page

Over the years, tennis has seen several players set the court on fire with breathtaking groundstrokes. From Billie Jean King to Williams sisters, the sport has seen multiple superstars rise through its ranks to make a name for themselves. Each generation has witnessed its own heavyweight ruling the game. If early 1980s belonged to Martina Navratilova, then late 1990s was Martina Hingis’ turn and 2000s saw the dominance of Williams sisters. Below is the list of players who have ruled the women’s game in tennis history:

Martina Navratilova

Navratilova has always been the symbol of consistency and longevity. The Czechoslovak-born American player excelled in both singles and doubles. The age-defying star played till her late 40s. The final match of her career was the 2006 US Open mixed doubles final victory alongside Bob Bryan when she was a month shy of her 50th birthday and thus became the oldest ever major champion.

Navratilova has won a total of 59 Grand Slam titles. 18 of those came in singles, while she bagged record 31 women’s doubles titles and 10 major mixed doubles trophies. She is the only player in history to have held the top spot in both singles and doubles for over 200 weeks. Navratilova has won an astonishing 167 singles and 177 doubles titles.

Margaret Court

Margaret has won every title possible in singles or doubles. She tops the Grand Slam list with 24 singles titles. Court has a further 19 women’s doubles and 21 mixed doubles titles, taking her tally to 64 Grand Slam trophies across various categories. There has not been a more dominant player than her in tennis history.

She is one of only three women to have ever managed a Career Grand Slam in women’s singles, doubles, and mixed doubles, which is called the “Grand Slam Boxed Set”. Besides, Court is the only player to have won all 12 Grand Slam events a minimum of two times. Without a question, she will always be regarded as the greatest ever tennis player.  

Steffi Graf

The former German legend revolutionised the way tennis was played. She has won multiple majors at various fronts and has played a major role to propel the popularity of the sport. Graf’s 22 Grand Slam victories are divided into seven Wimbledon, six French Open, five US Open and four Australian Open titles. She is also the only player to have won every Grand Slam a minimum of four times.

The memorable time of Steffi’s career came in 1998 when she completed a “Golden Slam” by clinching all four Grand Slam singles titles and an Olympic Gold. Experts have often praised her attacking style of play that has provided the foundation to the playing style in the modern game. Graf was one of the few complete players with no notable flaws. Beyond her skills, it was her grit and determination that allowed her to rule the tennis world.

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.