Miami Open 2022: Defending champion Ashleigh Barty leads star-studded line-up

After the tournament was cancelled in 2020, Barty returned in 2021 and successfully defended her title.

Ashleigh Barty in a file photo; Credit: Twitter/@TennisAustralia

World No.1 Ashleigh Barty leads the lineup for the 2022 Miami Open, with the Australian aiming for a third straight triumph at the season’s third WTA 1000 event. Barty won her maiden WTA 1000 title in Miami in 2019, propelling her into the Top 10 of the WTA singles rankings for the first time. After the tournament was canceled in 2020, Barty returned in 2021 and successfully defended her title. The Australian will hope to maintain that run in this year’s competition as well, but she will be facing a lot of tough battles along her way to the final. The main draw begins on Tuesday, March 22, in Miami. 

Barty, current Australian Open champion, leads an eye-catching entry list for the second event in the “Sunshine Double.” Initially, all the top 40 players in the WTA singles rankings were entered. However, Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, ranked fourteenth, had to pull out this week due to a knee injury. In terms of good news, Naomi Osaka will receive a main-draw wild card, according to the Miami Open. Osaka, former World No. 1 and four-time Grand Slam champion, is seeking her first trip to the Miami Open final.

READ MORE – Australian Open final: Ash Barty beats Danielle Collins

Top ranked players are present in Miami line-up

The reigning Roland Garros winner Barbora Krejcikova, who is the current World No.2, is on the entry list. The other Top 5 players like Aryna Sabalenka, Iga Swiatek, and Anett Kontaveit are also on the list. Teenage sensation Emma Raducanu, who is the reigning US Open champion, will also be there along with the 2021 US Open runner-up, Leylah Fernandez. Coco Gauff also joins them in the field.

Danielle Collins will be the top American on the field who will be looking to carry the country’s challenge forward in the tournament. Collins, the World No.11, reached her maiden Grand Slam final at the Australian Open last month.

Barty (2019 and 2021), Sloane Stephens (2018), and three-time champion Victoria Azarenka (2009, 2011, and 2016) are among the former champions on the entry list.

When Azarenka won Indian Wells and Miami back-to-back in 2016, she became the most recent player to complete the “Sunshine Double” in singles. Jelena Ostapenko, the 2018 runner-up, and Karolina Pliskova, the 2019 finalist, have also been added to the lineup.

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post