Australian Open 2023: Where to watch, Preview, Dates, Schedule, Seeds, Prize Money, Live Streaming details

Rafael Nadal, the current champion, shouldn't be discounted, though, as he is more than capable of making a run at the championship.

Rafael Nadal is the top seed in the first Grand Slam of 2023. (Image: Twitter/Roland Garros)
By Nilavro Ghosh | Jan 13, 2023 | 3 Min Read follow icon Follow Us


The largest annual sporting event in the Southern Hemisphere, the Australian Open, takes place every year in Melbourne, Australia, during the final two weeks of January. The 111th Australian Open will take place, the 55th in the Open Era, and it will be the first Grand Slam of the year. The Australian Open, which takes place in advance of the French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open, is the Grand Slam event with the highest attendance in 2020. It includes wheelchair, legends, and exhibition matches in addition to men’s and women’s singles, men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles, as well as junior championships.

The 2023 Australian Open, the first Grand Slam of the year, will take place at Melbourne Park and will feature a return of top tennis players on January 16. In the absence of the tournament’s reigning champion Ashleigh Barty, Iga Swiatek and Ons Jabeur will be playing in the women’s draw this year. The field appears to be extremely competitive when players like last year’s finalist Danielle Collins, Grand Slam champions Viktoria Azarenka, Petra Kvitova, and Emma Raducanu, as well as top-10 players Aryna Sabalenka, Coco Gauff, and Jessica Pegula, are included.

The 2023 Australian Open men’s singles draw has been made, and Melbourne Park will host two weeks of tennis extravaganza for fans from around the world. One year after the visa controversy, Novak Djokovic will compete in the Asia-Pacific Major again. Given his recent form, he will likely be the heavy favourite to win. Rafael Nadal, the current champion, shouldn’t be discounted, though, as he is more than capable of making a run at the championship. Given their attributes, athletes like Daniil Medvedev, Casper Ruud, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Andrey Rublev, and Felix Auger-Aliassime are also taken into consideration.

Tournament Schedule

The main draw of the 2023 Australian Open is set to start on January 16. The competition will conclude on January 29. Here is the schedule for the singles action

Tournament stageDate
First roundJanuary 16-17 (men’s and women’s)
Second roundJanuary 18-19 (men’s and women’s)
Third roundJanuary 20-21 (men’s and women’s)
Fourth roundJanuary 22-23 (men’s and women’s)
Quarter-finalJanuary 24 (men’s and women’s)
Semi-finalJanuary 26 (women’s), January 27 (men’s)
FinalJanuary 28 (women’s), January 29 (men’s)



No. SeedPlayer
1Rafael Nadal
2Casper Ruud
3Stefanos Tsitsipas
4Novak Djokovic
5Andrey Rublev
6Felix Auger-Aliassime
7Daniil Medvedev
8Taylor Fritz
9Holger Rune
10Hubert Hurkacz
11Cameron Norrie
12Alexander Zverev
13Matteo Berrettini
14Pablo Carreno Busta
15Jannik Sinner
16Frances Tiafoe
17Lorenzo Musetti
18Karen Khachanov
19Nick Kyrgios
20Denis Shapovalov
21Borna Coric
22Alex De Minaur
23Diego Schwartzman
24Roberto Bautista Agut
25Daniel Evans
26Miomir Kecmanovic
27Grigor Dimitrov
28Francisco Cerundolo
29Sebastian Korda
30Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
31Yoshihito Nishioka
32Botic van de Zandschulp


Seed First name
1Iga Swiatek
2Ons Jabeur
3Jessica Pegula
4Caroline Garcia
5Aryna Sabalenka
6Maria Sakkari
7Coco Gauff
8Daria Kasatkina
9Veronika Kudermetova
10Madison Keys
11Paula Badosa
12Belinda Bencic
13Danielle Collins
14Beatriz Haddad Maia
15Petra Kvitova
16Anett Kontaveit
17Jelena Ostapenko
18Liudmila Samsonova
19Ekaterina Alexandrova
20Barbora Krejcikova
21Martina Trevisan
22Elena Rybakina
23Shuai Zhang
24Victoria Azarenka
25Marie Bouzkova
26Elise Mertens
27Irina-Camelia Begu
28Amanda Anisimova
29Qinwen Zheng
30Karolina Pliskova
31Kaia Kanepi
32Jil Teichmann

Prize Money

Mixed DoublesA$157,750A$89,450A$47,500A$25,250


Men’s Singles20001200720360
Men’s Doubles20001200720360
Women’s Singles20001300780430
Women’s Doubles20001300780430

Live Streaming/Broadcasting details

Eurosport – United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.

Nine & Stan Sport – Australia.

beIN Sports – Middle East and North Africa.

SuperSport – Sub-Saharan Africa.

CCTV, iQIYI, GreatSports Media (Shanghai TV), Guangdong TV – China.

Eurosport – Europe.

WOWOW – Japan.

ESPN International – Latin and Central America, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Sony Six, Sony Ten & Sony Liv – India.

ESPN Network – USA



Related Post