Shooting, Men’s and Women’s 10m Air Rifle Events, Men’s 25m Rapid Fire Pistol: Day 2 Results

Here are the results of the final matches that took place in Shooting on September 30, 2022.

Left: Tilottama Sen (Karnataka), Center: Elavenil Valarivan (Gujarat), Right: Mehuli Ghosh (West Bengal) at the National Games 2022 (Credits - SAI Media; Twitter)
By Abhiruchi Rout | Sep 30, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Tokyo Olympian Elavenil Valarivan got past Karnataka’s Tilottama Sen to seal the gold in the women’s 10m air rifle event at the National Games 2022. In the gold medal playoff, Elavenil grabbed 16 points against Tilottama (10) to secure the prestigious gold for her home team. Although the 14-year-old gave stiff competition to all the experienced shooters, she had to settle for a silver. Karnataka’s Tilottama and Yukthi Rajendra started the proceedings well, but Elavenil overshadowed them to reach the top position. It was West Bengal’s Mehuli Ghosh who confirmed the bronze medal, finishing with 261.6. 

Earlier in the day, Maharashtra’s Rudrannksh Balasaheb Patil secured a comprehensive victory against Arjun Babuta (17-7) in the finals. Rudrannksh, who had finished second to Olympic champion William Shaner in the 2021 Junior World Championships in Peru, got the better of a star-studded lineup at the Ahmedabad Rifle Club. Promising 50m rifle 3 Positions shooter Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar clinched the bronze medal for Madhya Pradesh. Although this wasn’t Aishwary’s pet event, he put up a strong show to get hold of the third position, scoring 261.8. 

In the men’s 25m rapid-fire pistol, the Commonwealth Games 2018 champion Anish Bhanwala stole the show, outshining his opponents. Anish, representing Haryana registered a perfect 20/20 in the ranking round and recorded 30 out of 35 shots in the finals to bag the yellow medal. Ankur Goel who topped the qualifications yesterday won the silver and Gurmeet earned the bronze medal by scoring 22 and 18 respectively. London Olympics 2012 silver medalist Vijay Kumar’s quest for a podium finish was halted by a weapon malfunction.

Read more: Shooting, National Games 2022: LIVE Streaming, When and Where to Watch, Schedule

Day 2: Results

Men’s 10m Air Rifle:

Gold – Rudrannksh Balasaheb Patil (Maharashtra)
Silver – Arjun Babuta (Punjab)
Bronze – Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar (Madhya Pradesh)

Women’s 10m Air Rifle:

Gold: Elavenil Valarivan (Gujarat)
Silver: Tilottama Sen (Karnataka)
Bronze: Mehuli Ghosh (West Bengal)

Men’s 25m Rapid Fire Pistol:

Gold: Anish Bhanwala (Haryana)
Silver: Ankur Goel (Uttarakhand)
Bronze: Gurmeet (Services)