Indian Sports Honors 2023: Everything You Need To Know

The Indian Sports Honors 2023 will honor outstanding athletes from various sports who performed extremely well from January 1, 2021 to February 28, 2023.

Legendary athlete Milkha Singh received the Lifetime Achievement Honour in 2019 (Image Credits - Twitter)
By Abhiruchi Rout | Mar 23, 2023 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

The fourth iteration of the prestigious Indian Sports Honours (ISH) event is scheduled to take place in Mumbai on March 23, 2023. The special event, which promotes and recognizes the spirit of sportsmanship is conceptualized by Cornerstone. The occasion will honor outstanding athletes from various sports who performed extremely well from January 1, 2021 to February 28, 2023. The ISH is back after a two-year absence, and the 2023 edition is expected to be the biggest yet. Star Sports Network will broadcast the tournament. Ernst & Young LLP (EY) is serving as the Process Consultants in a partnership with Indian Sports Honors to supervise and evaluate the entire selection and jury process with contributions from Sportskeeda, the Indian popular news website.

The best athletes will be identified, chosen, and recognized with 10 Jury Honors, six Public Choice Honors, and one Lifetime Achievement Honor. The prestigious awards have a stringent screening procedure in place, where Sportskeeda will give data for the jury, EY will further confirm the data, and they will share the top four nominees in each category, who will then be confirmed by Sportskeeda. The Jury will next select the final winners from the shortlisted nominees. An online poll that is currently active on Twitter will be used to select the winners of the six People’s Choice Honors. The ISH recognises India’s everlasting passion for sports. The event brings together the whole Indian sports community, featuring renowned sportsmen, sports journalists, and enthusiastic fans.

Read more-Twitter reacts as Rani Rampal gets a stadium named after her

Who are the Jury Members?

PT Usha, Abhinav Bindra, Anjali Bhagwat, Yogeshwar Dutt, Sanjog Gupta, Vijender Singh

Nominees in different Categories

Sportsman of the Year – Sharath Kamal (Table Tennis), Bajrang Punia (Wrestling), Neeraj Chopra (Javelin), Ravi Kumar Dahiya (Wrestling)
Sportsman of the Year (Team) – Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty (Badminton), PR Sreejesh (Hockey), Ravichandran Ashwin (Cricket), Mohammed Siraj (Cricket)
Sportswoman of the Year (Team) – Lovely Chaubey / Rupa Rani Tirkey (Lawn Bowl), Renuka Singh (Cricket), Richa Ghosh (Cricket), Savita Punya (Hockey)
Team of the Year – India Under-19 Men’s cricket team, India Under-19 Women’s cricket team, Lawn Bowl Women’s team, Men’s Badminton team (Thomas Cup)
Coach of the Year – Nooshin Al Khadeer (Under-19 Women’s cricket team), Rishikesh Kanitkar (Under-19 Men’s World cup team, Women’s cricket team), Virender Kumar (Wrestling), Vijay Sharma (Weightlifting)
Emerging Sportsman of the Year- Govind Sahani (Boxing), Lakshya Sen (Badminton), Ronaldo Singh (Cycling), Umran Malik (Cricket)
Emerging Sportswoman of the Year – Antim Panghal (Wrestling), Ridhi Phor (Archery), Shweta Sehrawat (Cricket), Asha Kiran Barla (Athletics)
Differently Abled Sportsman of the Year – Pramod Bhagat (Badminton), Sumit Antil (Javelin), Sudhir (Powerlifting), Yogesh Kathuniya (Discus Throw)
Differently Abled Sportswoman of the Year – Avani Lekhara (Air rifle Shooting), Bhavina Patel (Table Tennis), Manisha Ramadass (Badminton), Jayanti Behera (Track)

How to watch the Indian Sports Honors 2023?

The event will be telecast on the Star sports network and Disney+ Hotstar.

Read more-National Sports Awards 2022: Complete List of all The Awardees