ISSF World Cup Bhopal 2023: Five Indian Shooters to Watch Out

Madhya Pradesh State Shooting Academy will be the venue for the ISSF World Cup 2023.

Aishwary Pratap Singh at ISSF World Cup 2022 (Instagram - @aishwary_ind)
By Abhiruchi Rout | Mar 19, 2023 | 3 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

India is all set to host the ISSF World Cup 2023 from March 20 to March 27, 2023, in Bhopal. The competition will feature 325 shooters and 75 officials from 33 different nations. Madhya Pradesh State Shooting Academy will be the venue for the ISSF World Cup 2023. Since India is hosting the tournament, it will be a huge task for the Indian shooters as they aim to bring glory to their nation. Let’s take a look at the shooters who are India’s best bets and the ones to watch out for in the ISSF World Cup.

Varun Tomar (Event – Men’s 10m Air Pistol)

Varun Tomar has been very impressive for India recently. In the last ISSF World Cup 2023 in Cairo, he clinched two medals for India. This included one bronze in the individual men’s 10m air pistol event. His second medal was a gold medal which he won when he partnered with Rhythm Sangwan. Varun’s inspiration is none other than Saurabh Chaudhary who came in seventh in the Tokyo Olympics 2020 in the men’s 10m air pistol event. Varun’s consistency in the ISSF tournaments makes him one of the prospects to watch out for considering his consistent performances.

Anish Bhanwala (Event – Men’s 25m Rapid Fire Pistol)

Anish Bhanwala recently captured the bronze medal for India at the recently held ISSF World Cup 2023 in Cairo. The Commonwealth Games (CWG) 2018 gold medalist accomplished this in the men’s 25m rapid-fire pistol with a score of 21 in the medal match. Anish won the medal ahead of the two-time Olympic medalist, Christian Reitz, and gave India its first medal in this event after 12 years. Anish had a sensational 2022, as he became the National Games champion, collected four gold medals, and set the national record at the 65th National Shooting Championship in Bhopal. As a result, Anish is one of the top medal contenders for the ISSF World Cup 2023 Bhopal.

Read more: ISSF World Cup Cairo 2023: Anish bags bronze to end India’s successful campaign

Anjum Moudgil (Event – Women’s 50m Rifle 3 Positions)

Anjum Moudgil will enter the competition as one of the most experienced shooters from India. She will thus be the flagbearer of the country at the World Cup and be carrying the responsibility of the nation on her shoulders. The last time Anjum won a medal for India was at the ISSF President’s Cup 2022 where she won the silver medal in the women’s 50m rifle 3 positions. She will be eyeing to bring glory to the nation once again as she represents India in the Bhopal leg of the World Cup. Some of Anjum’s prime achievements include two silver medals at the 2018 World Championships, a silver medal at the Commonwealth Games 2018, etc.

Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar (Event – Men’s 50m Rifle 3 Positions)

Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar claimed the gold medal in the men’s 50m rifle 3 positions at the ISSF World Cup 2023 in Cairo, Egypt. The 21-year-old has been one of the strongest links for India over the past few years. However, before the Cairo event, he looked a bit underconfident in international events despite winning dominating national competitions. But, the gold at the Cairo World Cup would have surely boosted his confidence. This was his fifth gold medal in an ISSF event. After adding another accomplishment under his possession, Aishwary will be raring to go.

Rudrankksh Balasaheb Patil (Event – Men’s 10m Air Rifle)

Rudrankksh Balasaheb Patil is definitely the shooter to watch out for at the ISSF Shooting World Cup in Bhopal. His calmness and ability to handle pressure situations make him different from everyone. Rudrankksh has become an integral member of the Indian contingent. With gold medals in ISSF World Championship 2022, President World Cup 2022, and World Cup 2023 in Cairo, the 20-year-old has established himself as the best shooter in India at the moment.

Read more: Rudrankksh Balasaheb Patil – The successor of Abhinav Bindra?