Golf news: Phil Mickelson to return at Sentry Tournament of Champions after 21 years

Mickelson won the winners-only tournament at La Costa Resort in 1998, but has only played twice since it moved to Kapalua.

Phil Mickelson in a file photo. (Image: Twitter)

Phil Mickelson is returning to Hawaii for the Sentry Tournament of Champions at Kapalua for the first time in 21 years, but not for a vacation. Mickelson won the winners-only tournament at La Costa Resort in 1998, but has only played twice since it moved to Kapalua’s Plantation Course in 1999, most recently in 2001, when he tied for 28th in a field of 33. This time, he qualified by winning the PGA Championship on Kiawah Island at the age of 50, making him the oldest major champion in history.

He will be joined by Masters champion Hideki Matsuyama, US Open victor Jon Rahm, and Open winner Collin Morikawa at Kapalua on January 6-9. Jordan Spieth and Justin Thomas are also in the field. Among those not playing is Wells Fargo Championship winner Rory McIlroy, who begins his season on the European tour’s Middle East swing.


“We’re absolutely thrilled to welcome Phil Mickelson back to Kapalua, as his return adds additional star power to an incredibly deep and talented field,” said Sentry Tournament of Champions Executive Director Alex Urban. “Our thanks to Sentry for their partnership and commitment in making the Sentry Tournament of Champions an event our players have circled on their calendars each year.”

Mickelson won the Sentry Tournament of Champions in 1994 and 1998, both times at the La Costa Resort and Spa in Carlsbad, California. He won his fourth PGA TOUR title in 1994, on his second tournament appearance, when he defeated Fred Couples on the second hole of a playoff. Mickelson won a one-shot victory over Tiger Woods and Mark O’Meara in 1998.

Mickelson has five top-25 finishes in eight starts at the Sentry Tournament of Champions, including a T28 in his most recent appearance in 2001: T30/1992, 1/1994, 19/1995, 28/1996, T11/1997, 1/1998, T22/1999, T28/2001.

Reigning FedExCup champion Patrick Cantlay, World No. 1 Jon Rahm, World No. 2 Collin Morikawa, Brooks Koepka, Hideki Matsuyama, and Bryson DeChambeau are among the players who have already committed to the 2022 Sentry Tournament of Champions field. Mickelson is one of 40 players who have qualified for the Sentry Tournament of Champions in 2022.

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post