La Liga: Teams with most points in a single La Liga season

La Liga is the top flight football division in Spain. Now let’s have a look at the maximum number of points achieved by a club in a single La Liga season.

Real Madrid celebrate winning La Liga, Credit: Twitter/@realmadrid
By annirudh bhalla | May 24, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

La Liga is the top flight football division in Spain. It is one of the top five leagues in European football. Formed in 1929, La Liga has been the home to spectacular teams, players and matches over the years. Possibly the two biggest clubs in the world, Real Madrid and Barcelona have been the spearheads of the league for decades. La Liga has also seen itself being the most successfully represented league in European Competitions.

Read More: Carlo Ancelotti: Will ‘probably’ retire after Real Madrid job

Over the years, several great personalities and individuals have blessed La Liga. Great players like Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Zinedine Zidane, Ronaldinho have come to Spain and displayed their amazing qualities. While great tacticians and readers including Jose Mourinho, Pep Guardiola, Carlo Ancelotti, Johann Cruyff have taken the game to the next level and assembled supremely talented squads in La Liga. Initially commenced as a 10-team tournament, La Liga currently is contested by 20 teams much alike most of the European Leagues.

The 2021/22 La Liga season was another splendid Spanish campaign. The most successful side in the competition, Real Madrid once again emerged triumphant winning their 35th title amassing 86 points in the process. Carlo Ancelotti’s side were the most consistent team in the land and rightly reaped the results for it. Their fiercest rivals, Barcelona came second after a complete reversal in fortunes under Xavi. Atletico Madrid and Sevilla filled the other two Champions League spots. Granada, Levante and Alaves on the other hand found themselves at the relegation spots.

La Liga: Teams with maximum number of points in a season

Some incredible squads have played in La Liga over the years. Several players and coaches have described La Liga as one of the toughest and most competitive leagues in the world. This competitiveness has brought some thrilling battles and title races over La Liga’s illustrious history. From Real Madrid’s decorated period in the ‘50s to Barcelona’s resurgence under Johan Cruyff to the famous feuds between Jose Mourinho and Pep Guardiola. These famous coaches have coached teams that have gone down in the history books and are a point of reference for future coaches as well. Now let’s have a look at the maximum number of points achieved by a club within a single La Liga season.

1.Real Madrid2011-12100Jose Mourinho
2.Barcelona2012-13100Tito Vilanova
3.Barcelona2009-1099Pep Guardiola
4.Real Madrid2009-1096Manuel Pellegrini
5.Barcelona2010-1196Pep Guardiola
6.Barcelona2014-1594Luis Enrique
7.Real Madrid2016-1793Zinedine Zidane
8.Barcelona2017-1893Ernesto Valverde
9.Real Madrid2010-1192Jose Mourinho
10.Real Madrid2014-1592Carlo Ancelotti