Advertisement

Uruguay vs South Korea: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know

These two countries have not come up against each other frequently but have still taken to the field together on a few noticeable occasions.

File photo of Uruguay national team; Credit: Twitter/@Uruguay
By Karthik Raman | Nov 23, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Advertisement

Uruguay have a tricky South Korea test awaiting them in their FIFA World Cup opener on Thursday at the Education City Stadium. It will be difficult to call a winner in this match despite the South American nation being the favourites on paper. Uruguay might be favoured by many due to their superior quality of players on the pitch and their experience at this level. After all, Uruguay have won the World Cup twice but both triumphs happened several decades ago. Besides, the Asian nation’s form of late is not bad, giving them an outside chance of producing an upset on Thursday.

Uruguay vs South KoreaKey details
DateNovember 24
VenueEducation City Stadium
Kickoff time in India6:30 pm
Kickoff time in Uruguay10 am
Kickoff time in South Korea10 pm
Kickoff time in Qatar4 pm

The South American country had to dig deep to qualify for the World Cup. They won four successive matches in their last four qualifiers to seal their place in the showpiece event. Overall, they managed 28 points from 18 games to finish third. Uruguay have secured victories in two of their last three games. Meanwhile, South Korea had their ups and downs recently. They finished second in the third round Group A of World Cup qualifiers with 23 points from 10 games. However, the Asian side won their last two matches against Cameroon and Iceland.

Read More – Uruguay vs South Korea: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixture and Probable Lineups

Uruguay vs South Korea: Records, Stats & Goals

These two countries have not come up against each other frequently but have still taken to the field together on a few noticeable occasions. Out of the seven matches played between them, Uruguay – unsurprisingly – have won six of them, while South Korea tasted success on one occasion. They famously faced each other in the round-of-16 stage of the 2010 World Cup when Uruguay triumphed 2-1.

Key DetailsStats
Total matches7
Uruguay won6
South Korea won1
Draws
Total Uruguay goals11
Total South Korea goals4
Biggest Uruguay win2-0 (2003, 2007)
Biggest South Korea win2-1 (2018)

Uruguay vs South Korea Head-to-Head Record

Last 5 matches (all competitions)Results
South Korea beat Uruguay2-1
South Korea lose to Uruguay0-1
Uruguay beat South Korea2-1
South Korea lose to Uruguay0-2
South Korea lose to Uruguay0-2


Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Post

Advertisement

HIGHLIGHTS

Buzzwords