Advertisement

Spain vs Costa Rica: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know

This is the first time since the 2010 World Cup that Spain are entering the competition with not many people naming them as favourites for the trophy.

Spain striker Alvaro Morata in a file photo; Credit: Twitter/@AlvaroMorata
By Karthik Raman | Nov 22, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Advertisement

Spain will be looking to start the World Cup on a positive note when they take on Costa Rica in their opener on Wednesday. Even though the Spaniards will be the favourites on paper, they will be well aware of the tricky challenge at hand. Besides, Spain are entering this World Cup on the back of underperforming in the last two editions of this competition. After getting eliminated from the group stage in Brazil 2014, they had to exit Russia 2018 in the round-of-16 phase. 

Spain vs Costa RicaKey details
DateNovember 23
VenueAl Thumama Stadium
Kickoff time in India9:30 pm
Kickoff time in Spain5 pm
Kickoff time in Costa Rica10 am
Kickoff time in Qatar7 pm

This is the first time since the 2010 World Cup that Spain are entering the competition with not many people naming them as favourites for the trophy. However, they can take comfort from their impressive run to the semifinals of Euro 2020 last year. With a young and exciting squad at his disposal, Luis Enrique could help Spain defy the odds and go deep into the tournament. Meanwhile, Costa Rica got eliminated from the group stage four years ago – something they would look to rectify this time. However, they also need to face Germany and Japan in Group E, making their prospect of progression from this stage extremely difficult.

Read More – Spain vs Costa Rica: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixture and Probable Lineups

Spain vs Costa Rica: Records, Stats & Goals

The countries have not played each other on many occasions in the past. Even more so they have not come face-to-face in any global tournament. Hence, this is the first time both sets of supporters can witness this contest on a global stage. They have played each other thrice in the past and all have been in friendlies. After playing out a 2-2 draw in 2011, Spain won the remaining two games in 2015 (2-1) and 2017 (5-0).

Key DetailsStats
Total matches2
Spain won2
Costa Rica won
Draws1
Total Spain goals9
Total Costa Rica goals3
Biggest Spain win5-0 (2017)
Biggest Costa Rica win

Spain vs Costa Rica Head-to-Head Record

Last 5 matches (all competitions)Results
Spain beat Costa Rica5-0
Spain beat Costa Rica2-1
Costa Rica draw Spain2-2


Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Post

Advertisement

HIGHLIGHTS

Buzzwords