Advertisement

Portugal vs Uruguay: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know

Cristiano Ronaldo's opening strike from the penalty spot made him the first male player to score in five World Cups.

Cristiano Ronaldo at the 2022 FIFA World Cup. (Image: Twitter/Portugal)
By Karthik Raman | Nov 27, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Advertisement

Portugal have an opportunity to seal their place in the knockout rounds of the FIFA World Cup when they take on Uruguay. The Group H clash on Monday night will be an intriguing one since both sides will be eager for the three points due to contrasting reasons. A win for Portugal will secure their passage to the knockout stage and they could even clinch the top spot in the group if the other result goes in their favour. On the other hand, Uruguay were held to a goalless draw in their opener by South Korea hence they would be keen to get the three points from this fixture.

Portugal vs UruguayKey details
DateNovember 28
VenueLusail Stadium
Kickoff time in India12:30 am (Tuesday)
Kickoff time in Portugal7:00 pm (Monday)
Kickoff time in Uruguay4:00 pm (Monday)
Kickoff time in Qatar10:00 pm (Monday)

Cristiano Ronaldo created history in the opener against Ghana. His opening strike from the penalty spot made Ronaldo the first male player to score in five World Cups. That milestone diverted the negative attention he has been receiving following his controversial departure from Manchester United. Besides, the Monday match will provide Portugal with a chance to get revenge on the South American country. Four years ago in Russia, Uruguay knocked out Portugal in the round-of-16 stage. Edinson Cavani had scored twice for them in a 2-1 win. 

Read More – Portugal vs Uruguay: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixture and Probable Lineups

Portugal vs Uruguay: Records, Stats & Goals

There haven’t been many games between these two countries in the past, as they have rarely come up against one another. There have been only three games between them in the past, with those games producing all three possible outcomes – a win, draw and defeat. One of those fixtures was the 2018 World Cup last-16 match, which was eventually won by Uruguay. The other two were friendlies, with Portugal winning the encounter between them 3-0 in 1966.

Key DetailsStats
Total matches3
Portugal won1
Uruguay won1
Draws1
Total Portugal goals5
Total Uruguay goals3
Biggest Portugal win3-0 (1966)
Biggest Uruguay win2-1 (2018)

Head to Head

All competitionsResults
Uruguay beat Portugal2-1
Uruguay draw Portugal1-1
Portugal beat Uruguay3-0


Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Post

Advertisement

HIGHLIGHTS

Buzzwords