Advertisement

Portugal vs Switzerland: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know

Switzerland overcame Cameroon and Serbia but lost to Brazil to finish second in Group G with six points.

Portugal players in a file photo. (Image: Twitter/FIFA World Cup)
By Karthik Raman | Dec 5, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Advertisement

Portugal and Switzerland will be eager to win the final round-of-16 contest of the FIFA World Cup 2022 on Tuesday night. These two countries finished their respective groups with similar points and the same win/loss ratio. They also faced each other in the Nations League earlier this year. Portugal had won their home tie 4-0 before Switzerland prevailed 1-0 in the reverse leg. These two nations had their ups and downs so far in the World Cup, but one thing has remained constant – they are a tough nut to crack, making this contest very difficult to call.

Portugal vs SwitzerlandKey details
DateDecember 6
VenueLusail Stadium
Kickoff time in India12:30 am (Wednesday)
Kickoff time in Portugal7 pm (Tuesday)
Kickoff time in Switzerland8 pm (Tuesday)
Kickoff time in Qatar10 pm (Tuesday)

Portugal entered the World Cup with a quality squad at their disposal led by their talisman Cristiano Ronaldo. They were expected to go deep in the competition and so far, Portugal have not let down their supporters. After beating Ghana and Uruguay, they suffered a late defeat to South Korea. Despite that setback, Portugal still topped Group H. Meanwhile, Switzerland overcame Cameroon and Serbia but lost to Brazil to finish second in Group G with six points.

Read More – Portugal vs Switzerland: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixture and Probable Lineups

Portugal vs Switzerland: Records, Stats & Goals

These two countries have played each other on numerous occasions in the past. Surprisingly though they have never faced one another in the World Cup before. They did face each other in Euro 2008 when Switzerland won the group game 2-0. Overall, there have been 25 games played between them, with the Swiss nation winning 11 of them, while Portugal tasted success on nine occasions in this fixture. The remaining five games ended in a draw. They played each other in two Nations League group matches earlier this year, with both teams winning one each.

Key DetailsStats
Total matches25
Portugal won9
Switzerland won11
Draws5
Total Portugal goals34
Total Switzerland goals34
Biggest Portugal win4-0 (2022)
Biggest Switzerland win3-0 (1974)

Portugal vs Switzerland Head-to-Head Record

Last 5 matches (All competitions)Results
Switzerland beat Portugal1-0
Portugal beat Switzerland4-0
Portugal beat Switzerland3-1
Portugal beat Switzerland2-0
Switzerland beat Portugal2-0


Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Post

Advertisement

HIGHLIGHTS

Buzzwords