Advertisement

France vs Australia: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know

France had a forgettable UEFA Nations League campaign in which they narrowly avoided finishing at the bottom of League A Group 1.

France football team in a file photo, Credit: Twitter/@equipedefrance
By Karthik Raman | Nov 21, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Advertisement

France will be eager to retain their champions tag as they head into the World Cup with an interesting opening match against Australia on Tuesday. The defending world champions have the squad strength required to beat any team on a given day. However, their recent run of results will be a concern for their supporters. Despite the poor form, the European nation will be expected to get past the challenge of Australia in their opening Group D contest on Tuesday night at Al Janoub Stadium. 

France vs AustraliaKey details
DateNovember 22
VenueAl Janoub Stadium
Kickoff time in India12:30 am (Wednesday)
Kickoff time in France8 pm (Tuesday)
Kickoff time in Australia6 am (Wednesday)
Kickoff time in Qatar10 pm (Tuesday)

It is safe to say that Didier Deschamps’ side is not in the best of forms lately. They had a forgettable UEFA Nations League campaign in which France narrowly avoided finishing at the bottom of League A Group 1. They could only manage five points from six games to occupy the third spot. Besides, France are heading into this contest on the back of losing their last game against Denmark 2-0. On the other hand, Australia face a difficult challenge in getting out of a group that has France and Denmark. The other opponent Tunisia will neither be an easy game.

Read More – France vs Australia: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixture and Probable Lineups

France vs Australia: Records, Stats & Goals

The upcoming contest could be a repeat of last World Cup’s group stage encounter. Back in 2018, France defeated Australia 2-1 in Russia. These two nations have not played often on the international stage yet they have produced some interesting results. Out of the five games played between them, France won three, while Australia won once and the other ended in a draw. The only time Australia ever defeated France was way back in 2001 when they beat the Europeans 1-0 in the Confederations Cup.

Key DetailsStats
Total matches5
France won3
Australia won1
Draws1
Total France goals10
Total Australia goals3
Biggest France win6-0 (2013)
Biggest Australia win1-0 (2001)

France vs Australia Head-to-Head Record

Last 5 matches (all competitions)Results
France beat Australia2-1
France beat Australia6-0
Australia draw France1-1
Australia beat France1-0
Australia lose to France0-1


Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Post

Advertisement

HIGHLIGHTS

Buzzwords