Euro 2020: Belgium announce 26-man provisional squad

There is no place for former Manchester United winger Adnan Januzaj, with the Real Sociedad man only on the standby list.

Belgium are considered strong contendors for Euro 2020. (Image Credit: Twitter/@BelRedDevils)
By Arnab Mukherji | May 17, 2021 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us


Belgium have announced a provisional squad of 26 players for the upcoming Euro 2020. There are no major surprises in the team announced by Roberto Martinez. Thibaut Courtois, Simon Mignolet and Matz Sels are the players battling it out in the goalkeeping department. Toby Alderweireld, Dedyrck Boyata, Jason Denayer, Thomas Vermaelen, Timothy Castagne, Thomas Meunier and Jan Vertonghen are the men who will be in contention for slots in the defensive unit. Yannick Carrasco, Nacer Chadli, Thorgan Hazard, Kevin de Bruyne, Leander Dendoncker, Dennis Praet, Youri Tielemans, Hans Vanaken and Alex Witsel are the players in charge of ensuring smoothness in midfield.

Jeremy Doku, Eden Hazard, Dries Mertens, Leandro Trossard, Michy Batshuayi, Christian Benteke and Romelu Lukaku are the attackers in the Belgium Euro 2020 squad.

Tielemans was recently in the limelight following his spectacular winner in the FA Cup final between Leicester City and Chelsea. The Belgian midfielder smashed an absolute screamer to help the former record their maiden FA Cup triumph.

Carrasco has been a vital member of the Atletico Madrid squad that has dominated the La Liga this season, and could well go on to record a league triumph in their final match against Real Real Valladolid CF.

Adnan Janujaz one of the players on standby

Kaminski, Saelemaekers, Sambi Lokonga, Heynen, Foket, Adnan Januzaj, Mechele, Jordan Lukaku, Vanheusden, Verschaeren & De Ketelaere are players on standby in the Belgium squad.

Divock Origi has not been included in the team for the Euro 2020, which is certainly shocking considering his ability to emerge as a game-changer.

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge), Matz Sels (Strasbourg)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Dedryck Boyata (Hertha Berlin), Jason Denayer (Lyon), Thomas Vermaelen (Vissel Kobe), Jan Vertonghen (Benfica)

Midfielders: Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid), Timothy Castagne (Leicester), Nacer Chadli (Istanbul Basaksehir), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund), Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Leander Dendoncker (Wolves), Dennis Praet (Leicester), Youri Tielemans (Leicester), Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge), Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund)

Attackers: Jeremy Doku (Rennes), Eden Hazard (Real Madrid), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Leandro Trossard (Brighton), Michy Batshuayi (Crystal Palace), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan).



Related Post