Chelsea enter elite list after winning UEFA Champions League title for the second time

Chelsea entered an elite list of teams that have won the UEFA Champions League for the second time after they defeated Manchester City 1-0 in the final in Porto.

Chelsea are the fourth team after Manchester United, Liverpool and Nottingham Forest. (Image credit: UEFA Champions League Twitter)
By Siddharth vishwanathan | May 30, 2021 | 3 Min Read follow icon Follow Us


Chelsea entered a special league of teams after winning the final of the UEFA Champions League against Manchester City. Kai Hevertz was the star for Chelsea as his strike in the 42nd minute allowed Thomas Tuchel’s side their second title. Their first title in 2012 came after beating Bayern Munich 4-3 on penalties. This was Chelsea’s third consecutive win against Manchester City this season. After beating them in the FA Cup semi-final, Chelsea managed to beat Manchester City in their last Premier League match as well as the UEFA Champions League final.

Chelsea has become the third team from the Premier League after Manchester United and Liverpool to win the UEFA Champions League twice. Manchester United won in 1999 and 2008 while Liverpool won in 2005 and 2019. However, many will argue that even Nottingham Forest won this tournament in 1979 and 1980. However, these statistics are taken into account after 1992.

The reason? The UEFA Champions League and the format was introduced in this format in that year. Introduced in 1955 as the European Champion Clubs’ Cup, and commonly known as the European Cup, it was initially a straight knockout tournament open only to the champions of Europe’s domestic leagues. Its winners were reckoned as the European club champion. The competition took on its current name in 1992, adding a round-robin group stage in 1991 and allowing multiple entrants from certain countries since 1997.

Real Madrid dominate UEFA Champions League

Even if we have to take the cut-off from 1992, Barcelona and Real Madrid have dominated the UEFA Champions League. From 1992 onwards, Real Madrid have won the UEFA Champions League seven times. When the tournament began, Real Madrid won five straight titles from 156 to 1960 with another one in 1966. In the modern era, Real Madrid had a streak in which they won four titles in five years. This streak started in 2014. Although they did not win in 2015, Real Madrid registered a hat-trick in 2016, 2017 and 2018.

Barcelona are the other side to have dominated the UEFA Champions League in the modern era. The Catalans have won five titles since 1992. Apart from the first win in 1992, Barcelona won titles in 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2015. Bayern Munich are the only side to have kept the Bundeliga flag alive in the UEFA Champions League.

After 1992, Bayern have won three titles in 2001, 2013 and 2020. Their previous three titles came in 1974, 1975 and 1976 in the heights of the Franz Beckenbauer-era. AC Milan have won three UEFA Champions League titles in the era post-1992. In 1994, 2003 and 2007, they won the UEFA Champions League. Before that, they had won the tournament four times in 1963, 1969, 1989 and in 1990.

Other nations in UEFA Champions League

Overall, there have been 13 teams (pre-1992 and post 1992) that have won the UEFA Champions League two times or more. FC Porto won in 1987 and in 2004. Benefica is the other club from Portugal to win twice in 1961 and 1962. Ajax Amsterdam have won four UEFA Champions League titles, with only one win coming post-1992 and that was in 1995. Before that, Ajax registered a hat-trick when they won in 1971, 1972 and 1973.

Apart from the two wins in 2005 and 2019, Liverpool won the UEFA Champions League in 1977, 1978, 1981 and 1984. Liverpool is the Premier League side with the most UEFA Champions League titles with six. Manchester United’s first win came in 1968 and they followed it up 31 years later with a memorable win against Real Madrid.

Inter Milan have won the UEFA Champions League in 2010 but their previous two wins came in 1964 and 1965. Juventus have surprisingly won the UEFA Champions League twice in 1985 and 1996. Nottingham Forest are the only team to have not won the UEFA Champions League post-1992, having won in 1979 and 1980.



Related Post