Advertisement

Argentina vs Mexico: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know

Argentina saw their 36-game undefeated streak come to an end in the opener against Saudi Arabia.

Argentina national football team in a file photo; Credit: Twitter/@Argentina
By Karthik Raman | Nov 25, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Advertisement

Argentina will need to bounce back quickly following their shock loss in their opening match of the FIFA World Cup 2022. The South American nation suffered a disappointing 2-1 defeat to Saudi Arabia. That result has already left Argentina in a precarious position. They now have a chance to put that disappointment behind them when they take on Mexico in their second Group C game. However, it will not be a straightforward affair since Mexico will also be in need of three points after only managing a draw in their opener.

Argentina vs MexicoKey details
DateNovember 25
VenueLusail Stadium
Kickoff time in India12:30 am (Sunday)
Kickoff time in Argentina4 pm (Saturday)
Kickoff time in Mexico1 pm (Saturday)
Kickoff time in Qatar10 pm (Saturday)

Mexico were lucky to get away with a point against Poland in their World Cup opener. That single point has allowed them to stay third in Group C. They will now face their most difficult task in the group stage. Notably, the Mexicans have a poor record against the South American giants, hence they have to be at the top of their game to get anything out of this match on Saturday night. Meanwhile, Argentina saw their 36-game undefeated streak come to an end in the opener. Prior to the tournament, many pundits expected them to top their group and go deep into the competition. However, the immediate priority for Lionel Messi and Co would be to get the three points against a tricky Mexico side.

Read More – Argentina vs Mexico: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixture and Probable Lineups

Argentina vs Mexico: Records, Stats & Goals

These two countries have come up against each other on numerous occasions in the past. In fact, they contested against each other in back-to-back World Cups (2006 and 2010). Both times Argentina won the round-of-16 clash against Mexico. In total, these two nations have played each other 23 times, with Argentina winning 15 of them. Mexico have beaten the South American giants only on two occasions, while the remaining six ended in draws. The last time these two countries faced each other was in a 2019 friendly when Argentina won 4-0.

Key DetailsStats
Total matches23
Argentina won15
Mexico won2
Draws6
Total Argentina goals50
Total Mexico goals24
Biggest Argentina win4-0 (2019)
Biggest Mexico win2-0 (1990)

Argentina vs Mexico Head-to-Head Record

Last 5 matches (all competitions)Results
Argentina beat Mexico4-0
Argentina beat Mexico2-0
Argentina beat Mexico2-0
Argentina draw Mexico2-2
Argentina beat Mexico3-1


Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Post

Advertisement

HIGHLIGHTS

Buzzwords