The Most Successful F1 drivers at the Spanish Grand Prix

In 1991 the Spanish GP moved to Catalunya and has remained since. The race is held in the early season, usually in late April or early May.

Michael Schumacher in a file photo. (Image credit: Twitter)

The Spanish Grand Prix is a Formula One motor racing event currently held at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. The race is one of the oldest in the world still contested, celebrating its centenary in 2013. The race had modest beginnings as a production car race. Interrupted by the First World War, the race waited a decade for its second running before becoming a staple of the European calendar. The first race generally considered to be a Spanish Grand Prix was held in 1913 on a 300-kilometer road circuit at Guadarrama, near Madrid. The 2022 Spanish Grand Prix is all set to be the next race on the F1 calendar and will be held on May 22.

In 1991 the event moved to Catalunya where it has remained since. The race is held in the early season, usually in late April or early May. The Spanish GP has a long history in the formula one with many races held in this location and many drivers who have raced this Grand Prix. Here is the list of the most successful drivers in the Spanish GP.

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher is a former German racing driver who competed in Formula One for Jordan, Benetton, Ferrari, and Mercedes. Schumacher has a joint-record seven World Drivers’ Championship titles tied with Lewis Hamilton. He was nicknamed “Regenkonig” (rain king) because of his record in wet conditions, up to the end of 2003, Schumacher won 17 of the 30 races in wet conditions. Schumacher has dominated the Spanish GP with 6 wins which also happens to be the joint best alongside Lewis Hamilton. The German won the Spanish GP in 1995, 1996, 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004.

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton is a British racing driver who was born on January 7, 1985, in Stevenage, England. He is the most successful driver in history, having won more races than anybody else and finishing as World Champion seven times. Hamilton began his Formula One career in 2007 with McLaren, where he was paired with two-time World Champion Fernando Alonso.Hamilton has the most career wins, most pole positions, most podium finishes, most career points, and most laps led, among other records. Hamilton has pretty much dominated the sport breaking records and shattering lap time. He has also won the Spanish GP 6 times in 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021.

Read more: Valtteri Bottas sends Lewis Hamilton warning to rivals

Alain Prost

Alain Marie Pascal Prost is a French retired racing driver and Formula One team owner born on 24 February 1955. A four-time Formula One Drivers’ Champion, from 1987 until 2001 he held the record for most Grand Prix victories until Michael Schumacher surpassed Prost’s total of 51 victories at the 2001 Belgian Grand Prix. During the 1980s and early 1990s Prost formed a fierce sporting rivalry, mainly with Ayrton Senna but also Nelson Piquet and Nigel Mansell. Prost won the 1993 championship and retired from Formula One driving at the end of the year. Prost won the Spanish GP 3 times in 1988, 1990 and 1993. Some other drivers who have also won the Spanish GP thrice are Jackie Stewart, Nigel Mansell and Mika Hakkinen.

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.