New Zealand v India: Talking Points

The black caps won the match by 7 wickets and 17 balls to spare, they go 1-0 up in the ODI series.

Kane Williamson and Tom Latham (Credits: Twitter/ICC)
By Omar | Nov 25, 2022 | 2 Min Read follow icon Follow Us

Skipper Dhawan and Gills set a brilliant platform at the beginning

Earlier in the match, New Zealand won the toss and opt to bowl first. Indian openers Shubman Gill (50 off 65) and Shikhar Dhawan (72 off 77) gave India a strong platform with a solid opening wicket partnership of 124. Both of the batters completed their respective half-centuries but fell sometime after their milestones in the matter of an over. 

Shreyas Iyer scored a fantastic century and took India to an above par score

Shreyas Iyer, who came in at number three, showed his class with a brilliant innings off 80 from 76 deliveries, including 4 fours and as many sixes. He was the sixth wicket to fall for India, but before his dismissal, there were a couple of batters, Rishabh Pant (15 off 23) and Suryakumar Yadav (4 off 3) failed to impress in the ODI circuit. While Shreyas added 94 runs for the fifth wicket alongside Sanju Samson (36 off 38), he also added 46 runs for the sixth wicket alongside Washington Sundar to propel the team’s total past 300 from being 4/160 at one stage.

Read More: 3rd ODI between India and Bangladesh moved out of Dhaka

Williamson and Latham stitch a record partnership and took Kiwis over the line

Williamson was slow to start off but paced his innings well and an unbeaten 221 runs for the fourth wicket with Tom Latham who took his game one notch up and scored boundaries all over the park hitting 19 fours and 5 huge sixes to score his seventh ODI century which is also his best score in the format (145*). Williamson played the anchor role and Latham the accelerator role, together they were just magnificent and secured the record of the highest-ever partnership for New Zealand in ODI cricket. The black caps won the match by 7 wickets and 17 balls to spare, they go 1-0 up in the ODI series.