IPL 2022 retention list: Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya lead the omissions chart

Key players were snubbed as teams put their trust in up and comers. Fans were left quite taken aback by a number of these choices.

Yuzvendra Chahal got a sufficiently low bid in the IPL 2022 Mega Auction (Image: Twitter)

All eight current teams of the Indian Premier League (IPL) released their respective lists of retained players for the 2022 season on Tuesday. While there have been some predictable choices, quite a few of them were shockers. Key players were snubbed as teams put their trust in up and comers. Fans were left quite taken aback by a number of these choices. Perhaps the most surprising was the players Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Mumbai Indians let go. Some releases by last year’s runners-up Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) were also quite surprising. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) let a few of their veteran players go but their selection was pretty well balanced overall.


RCB was the first team that announced its retention list. The franchise has an immense number of fans, all of whom had been impressed by the brilliance of youngsters Devdutt Padikkal and Harshal Patel last season. It is safe to say that they did not expect these two players to be released. The omission of spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was a big shock as well. The Challengers chose to retain Virat Kohli, Mohammad Siraj, and Glenn Maxwell for the upcoming season.

MI retained Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah and Kieron Pollard in their ranks. Neither of the Pandya brothers, both of whom have been with the team for a good number of years, were retained. Veteran wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock was also snubbed along with Indian wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan.

KKR retained their two seasoned veterans in Sunil Narine and Andre Russell, and also kept Venkatesh Iyer and Varun Chakravarthy. A problem for the men in purple will be the skipper role since Eoin Morgan has not been retained. Opening batter Shubman Gill was also snubbed and perhaps that was an even more shocking decision. The likes of Pat Cummins, Trent Boult, and Nitish Rana have also been let go.

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) did not retain two of their biggest players, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer, while the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) lost Rashid Khan and David Warner. The Punjab Kings (PBKS) will be without KL Rahul next season. In the cases of Rashid and Rahul, the players themselves had reportedly requested to be part of the mega auction. The team from Punjab also snubbed the likes of Ravi Bishnoi and Shahrukh Khan.

The omission of veteran Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan from Delhi Capitals (DC) was a shocker as well. DC also left out South African pacer Kagiso Rabada. These two players could be in very high demand at the auction. 


The retention of Mohammad Siraj over last season’s purple cap winner Harshal Patel for RCB is certainly an eyebrow-raising decision. MI also made a surprising decision by retaining Suryakumar Yadav over the likes of Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, and Ishan Kishan.

RR retained young opening batter Yashasvi Jaiswal for the next season over a number of experienced players. PBKS retained Arshdeep Singh as well, but the young pacer definitely earned his place in the team last season.

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.