IPL 2021: Jason Behrendorff replaces Josh Hazlewood in Chennai Super Kings team

Jason Behrendorff has been selected in the Chennai Super Kings team in place of Josh Hazlewood who withdrew from IPL 2021 due to bio-bubble fatigue.

Jason Behrendorff will play for Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2021, replacing Josh Hazlewood. (Image credit: Chennai IPL Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings have signed Jason Behrendorff as the replacement of Josh Hazlewood for IPL 2021. Hazlewood, the Australian pacer, opted out of the tournament due to coronavirus concerns. Behrendorff has earlier played for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League in 2019. Behrendorff has played 11 ODIs and seven Twenty20 Internationals. The left-arm pacer took a five-wicket haul in the 2019 ICC World Cup clash against England in Lord’s. Behrendorff also dismissed Virat Kohli for 0 in a T20I in Guwahati.

Hazlewood withdrew from IPL 2021, citing the need to be fresh for the ICC World T20 and the Ashes that will be played in the same year. “It all depends on how tight the bubbles are. Some are easier than others, and obviously, quarantine is a different story entirely. Everyone is different. I have no real issues,” Hazlewood had said.

Chennai Super Kings eye redemption

Chennai Super Kings will begin their campaign on April 10 against Delhi Capitals at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai. In IPL 2020, Chennai Super Kings lost both matches to Delhi Capitals. In one match, Shikhar Dhawan hit a century to thwart MS Dhoni’s team.

Chennai Super Kings finished in seventh in IPL 2020. Their campaign was marred by coronavirus as well as injuries to key players. This was the first time that Dhoni’s team failed to qualify for the playoffs. Delhi Capitals, on the other hand, reached the final for the first time in their franchise career. However, they lost to Mumbai Indians in the final.

Delhi Capitals are under a new captain this time in Rishabh Pant. Dhoni will be hoping that they can avoid a repeat of 2020 and once again reach the playoffs. However, all teams will be aiming to beat the Mumbai Indians, who are the five-time champions of the IPL.

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post