Asian Badminton Championship 2022: Day 4 Results, Schedule, Fixture and Live Streaming details

Indian shuttler PV Sindhu defeated lowly ranked Yue Yann Jaslyn Hooi of Singapore in straight sets in women’s singles to advance to the quarter-finals of the competition in Manila on Thursday.

Indian Mens' Doubles pair Satwiksairaj Rankireddy(left) and Chirag Shetty(right); Credit: Twitter/@Badminton_Asia

Star Indian shuttler PV Sindhu defeated lowly ranked Yue Yann Jaslyn Hooi of Singapore in straight sets in women’s singles to advance to the quarter-finals of Badminton Asian Championship in Manila on Thursday.  Indian men’s doubles pairing of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty also made it to the quarter-final of the competition by getting the better of Japan’s Akira Koga and Taichi Saito. Meanwhile Saina Nehwal and Kidambi Srikanth’s journey in the tournament came to an end. 

Read more:

All England open 2022: Lakshya Sen settles for silver after defeat against Victor Axelsen

Two-time Olympic medalist Sindhu defeated Jaslyn Hooi ranked 100th, 21-16, 21-16 in 42 minutes to set up a clash with third seed Chinese He Bing Jiao, whom she had beaten for a bronze at the Tokyo Olympics. The World number 7 Indian, who had claimed a bronze in the 2014 Gimcheon edition of the competition, has a 7-9 head-to-head record against Bing Jiao, whom she had beaten twice in the last two meetings. 

Third seeded men’s doubles pair of Satwik and Chirag produced a fine performance to advance to the last-eight round with a 21-17, 21-15 win over the Japanese pair of Koga and Saito. The world number 7 Indian pair will next face fifth seeded Malaysian combination of Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik. 

When is the 2022 Korea Open Super 500 Badminton championship?

The 2022 Badminton Asia Championship will commence on April 26 and end on May 01.

Men’s singles Round of 16 Results

Chico Aura Wardoyo beat Lee Cheuk Yiu 21-19, 22-20 

Loh Kean Yew beat Koki Watanabe 21-16, 21-6

Jonathan Christie beat Liew Daren 21-14, 13-21, 21-19 

Li shi Feng Wang beat Wang Tzu Wei 22-20, 23-21

Weng Hong Yang beat Kidambi Srikanth 21-16, 17-21, 21-17

Kanta Tsuneyama beat Tien Nguyen 21-9, 21-10

Lee Zii Jia beat Shesar Rhustavito 21-14, 22-20

Anthony Ginting beat Kenta Nishimoto 21-14, 13-21, 21-13

Men’s Singles Quarter-final Schedule

Chico Aura Wardoyo vs Li shi Feng Wang

Kanta Tsuneyama vs Lee Zii Jia

Jonathan Christie vs Loh Kean Yew

Weng Hong Yang vs Anthony Ginting

Women’s Singles Round of 16 Results

Akane Yamaguchi beat Komang Dewi 21-23, 21-9, 21-19

Pornpawee Chochuwong beat Putri Kusuma Wardani 21-12, 21-11

He Bing Jiao beat Kisona Selvaduray 21-18, 21-14

PV sindhu beat Yue Yann Jaslyn Hooi 21-16, 21-16

Wang Zhi Yi beat Saina Nehwal 12-21, 21-7, 21-13 

An Se Young beat Zhang Yi Man 21-7, 21-19

Wen Chi Hsu beat Thet Htar Thuzar 21-12, 13-21, 21-19

Sayaka Takahashi beat Yeo Jia Min 21-14, 14-21, 21-14

Women’s Singles Quarter-final Schedule 

PV Sindhu vs He Bing Jiao

Wang Zhi Yi vs Wen Chi Hsu 

Akane Yamaguchi vs Pornpawee Chochuwong

Sayaka Takahashi vs An Se Young

Men’s Doubles Results (India)

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/ Chirag Shetty beat Akira Koga/ Taichi Saito 21-17, 21-15

Men’s Doubles Schedule (India)

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/ Chirag Shetty vs Aaron Chia/ Soh Wooi Yik

Where to watch the 2022 Badminton Asia Championship? 

Fans in India can watch the Badminton Asia Championship 2022 LIVE on BWF’s official Youtube channel BWF TV. 

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post