Asian Badminton Championship 2022: Day 3 Results, Schedule, Fixtures and Live Streaming details

Indian Badminton player PV Sindhu; Credit: Twitter/@Badminton_Asia

PV Sindhu had to dig deep on Wednesday as she needed three games, an hour and 17 minutes to win her opening round at the Asian Badminton Championship in Manila. Meanwhile other top Indian shuttlers Saina Nehwal and Kidambi Srikanth also made through to the second round of the competition. But star Indian shuttlers Lakshya Sen and K Sai Praneeth bowed out of the tournament in the first round of men’s singles category.

Read more:

Satwiksairaj and Chirag rise to eighth in BWF rankings after India Open triumph

Sindhu had to fight hard to get the better of Chinese Taipei’s Pai Yu Pa as the fourth seed Indian came back from a game down to win 18-21, 27-25, 21-9 in a marathon women’s singles opening round match. 

London Olympics bronze medalist Nehwal, who is on a comeback trail after recovering from injuries, secured a 21-15, 17-21, 21-13 win over Sim Yujin of South Korea.  While seventh seeded Indian shuttler Srikanth was the other big name to enter the second round with a straight-game win over Tze Yong Ng of Malaysia. Srikanth defeated his opponent 22-20, 21-15, to set up a clash with Chinese qualifier Weng Hong Yang in the second round. 

When is the 2022 Korea Open Super 500 Badminton championship?

The 2022 Badminton Asia Championship will commence on April 26 and end on May 01.

Men’s Singles Round 1 Results

Chico Aura Wardoyo beat Kento Momota 17-21, 21-17, 21-7

Lee Cheuk Yiu beat Bahadeen Ahmad Alshannk 18-21, 21-11, 21-15

Li Shi Feng beat Lakshya Sen 12-21, 21-10, 21-19

Wang Tzu Wei beat Soleh Aidil 21-9, 9-21, 21-18

Jonathan Christie beat Sai Praneeth 21-17, 21-13

Liew Daren beat Heo Kwang Hee 8-21, 21-10, 21-15

Loh Kean Yew beat Kantaphon Wangcharoen 21-15, 15-21, 21-17

Koki Watanabe beat Dmitriy Panarin 21-18, 21-14

Tien Ming Nguyen beat Khosti Pherradab 21-19, 21-17

Kanta Tsuneyama beat Lei Lan Xi 11-21, 21-14, 21-17

Shesar Hiren Rhustavito beat Lin Chun Yi 14-21, 22-20, 21-19

Lee Zii Jia beat Sun Fei Ziang 19-21, 21-14, 21-14

Weng Hong Yang beat Jia Heng Jason Teh 22-20, 21-17

Kidambi Srikanth beat Ng Tze Young 22-20, 21-15

Kenta Nishimoto beat Adulrach Namkul 16-21, 21-17, 21-14

Anthony Ginting beat Sitthikom Thammasin 21-13, 17-21, 21-13

Men’s singles Round 2 Schedule

Chico Aura Wardoyo vs Lee Cheuk Yiu 

Loh Kean Yew vs Koki Watanabe

Jonathan Christie vs Liew Daren 

Li shi Feng Wang Tzu Wei

Weng Hong Yang vs Kidambi Srikanth

Tien Nguyen vs Kanta Tsuneyama

Shesar Rhustavito vs Lee Zii Jia

Kenta Nishimito vs Anthony Ginting

Women’s Singles Round 1 Results 

Akane Yamaguchi beat Aakarshi Kashyap 21-15, 21- 9

Komang Dewi beat Han Yue 21-14, 21-12

Pornpawee Chochuwong beat Sung Shuo Yun 21-12, 21-15

Putri Kusuma Wardani beat Kim Gaeun 10-21, 21-12, 21-15

An  Se young beat Stephanie Widjaja 21-16, 16-21, 21-16

Yue Yann Jaslyn Hooi beat Seo Jin Lee 21-18, 21-10

He Bing Jiao beat Aya Ohori 18-21, 21-13, 21-13

Kisona Selvaduray beat Yeung Sum Yee 21-10, 22-20

Saina Nehwal beat Sim Yu Jin 21-15 17-21, 21-13

Wang Zhi Yi beat Busanan Ongbamrunphan 12-21, 21-15, 21-15

Wen Chi Hsu beat Tan Zhing Yi 21-7, 21-10

PV Sindhu beat Pai Yu Po 18-21, 27-25, 21-9

Yeo jia Min beat Malavika Bansod 9-21, 21-17, 26-24

Sayaka Takahashi beat Thuy Linh Nguyen 16-21, 21-17, 21-16

Zhang Yi Man beat Gregoria Tunjung 20-22, 24-22, 21-15

Thet Thuzur beat Nozomi Okuhara (retired) 21-18

Women’s Single Round 2 Schedule 

Akane Yamaguchi vs Komang Dewi

Pornpawee Chochuwong vs Putri Kusuma Wardani

He Bing Jiao vs Kisona Selvaduray

PV sindhu vs Yue Yann Jaslyn Hooi

Saina Nehwal vs Wang Zhi Yi

Zhang Yi Man vs An Se Young

Wen Chi Hsu beat Thet Htar Thuzar

Yeo Jia Min vs Sayaka Takahashi 

Where to watch the 2022 Badminton Asia Championship? 

Fans in India can watch the Badminton Asia Championship 2022 LIVE on BWF’s official Youtube channel BWF TV. 

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Post