Ashwini Ponnappa, Sikki Reddy lose Denmark Masters final

In a three-game thriller, Ashwini Ponnappa and N Sikki Reddy lost to local favourites Freja Ravn and Amalie Magelund in the women’s doubles final.

Ashwini Ponnappa (L) and N Sikki Reddy; [email protected]

Indian women’s doubles pair of Ashwini Ponnappa and N Sikki Reddy put up a valiant effort but went down fighting in the Denmark Masters final. The Indian duo lost 15-21, 21-19, 21-14 to top seed Freja Ravn and Amalie Magelund in Esbjerg on Sunday. Seeded second in the tournament, the Indian pair lost to the local favourites in 59 minutes. Earlier, Ashwini, who is a Commonwealth Games champion, playing alongside Dhruv Rawat in mixed doubles, lost 21-14, 21-16 to finalists Niclas Nohr and Amalie Magelund of Denmark in the quarterfinals. A 24-member Indian badminton contingent was listed to take part in the tournament, which began on Thursday.

Earlier, Ashwini Ponnappa and N Sikki Reddy did well to win the closely-fought first game. However, the local favourites responded well in the second game, winning a neck-to-neck battle. With momentum on their side, top seed Freja Ravn and Amalie Magelund bagged the third game 21-14 to win the women’s doubles final.

Lakshya Sen is out

Elsewhere, top seed Lakshya Sen was defeated 13-21, 21-14, 21-18 by third seed and eventual champion Brian Yang of Canada in the semifinals. The 19-year-old Indian, a silver medallist at the Youth Olympic Games, had earlier beaten compatriot Kiran George in the round-of-16. However, he had to bow out in the last four stage in another tightly fought clash.

Ajay Jayaram and Siddharth Pratap Singh both lost in their round-of-32 matches. Meanwhile, Chirag Sen and Subhankar Dey could only make it to the quarterfinals. Varun Kapur, Sankar Muthusamy Subramanian and Kevin Walter in the men’s and Samiya Imad Farooqui in the women’s singles could not get past the qualifiers. The pair of Shivam Sharma and Poorvisha Ram were also out in the mixed doubles qualification round.

The women’s singles saw Sri Krishna Priya Kudaravalli and Aakarshi Kashyap losing their respective semifinal matches. Kriti Bharadwaj and Tanya Hemanth, who each came through three rounds of qualifiers, lost in the opening round. The duo of Krishna Prasad Garaga and Vishnu Vardhan Goud Panjala also lost in the last four stage. Meanwhile, the pairings of Utkarsh Arora / Saurabh Sharma, and Kona Tarun / Shivam Sharma were both out in the first round.

Sportslumo Desk

What do you think about the Article? Tell us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.